Amelie (2001)


AMELIE POSTER“It’s better to help people than garden gnomes.” – Amelie

Number of Times Seen – 1  (19 Nov 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A free spirited Parisian girl decides to change her life and begin to help others after she finds a hidden box in the wall of her bathtoom.

My Take on it – Here is my fourth of 5 reviews of movies that my good friend Table9Mutant of Cinema Parrot Disco “forced” me to watch after she won my movie road race quiz during Eric of the IPC’s Summer Shitfest 2014.

I can’t say that I loved this movie, but I really liked the way it was filmed.

This was a wondrously cinematic experience to view because of the way it was made which was a cross between a dramatic, comic and fantasy film.

The story is fun and quirky and each character is uniquely created. All of this together gives the viewer a sense that by making small changes in your life or in the lives of others then you can make a big difference in the world around.

That being said, the story isn’t perfect and if it was written more tightly, the movie experience would have been even better.

Bottom Line – Fun, quirky fantastical drama that gives the viewer a good feeling about helping others and little by little changing the world. Somewhat unique cinematic look makes this a wonder to look at, but the story isn’t perfect. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

15 thoughts on “Amelie (2001)

  1. Not my type, and it isn’t something that I’ll watch ( I’m a WWZ kind of person 🙂 ) but, for some reason, Ameile’s become one of my all time favorite movies,. I have already watched it so many times….

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  4. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actress – Oscars 2001 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.