United 93 (2006)


u93

“Come on, guys, what are we waiting for? Let’s roll. Come on, let’s go already.” – Todd Beamer

Number of Times Seen – at least 4 (Theater on 1 Sep 2006, at least twice on DVD, 18 April 2013)

Brief Synopsis – The dramatization of what happened on 9/11 and specifically on Flight 93

My Take on it – 9/11 is a day to us as 22 Nov 1963 was to our parents and 7 December 1941 was to our grandparents; a day that will live in infamy. In many ways, it’s even more scorched on our minds since it happened during the digital age and we all watched it as it happened.

I remember the day very clearly, it was 3:45 in the afternoon for me and an office mate told me that a small commuter plane crashed into the world trade center, must be a drunk pilot. Didn’t think much of it, but then the internet went down and it was even impossible to view CNN. After a few minutes, I went home (I lived 5 minutes from work at that time) and when I turned on the TV, I was in shock to have just missed the second plane hitting the South tower.  I was glued to the TV for the next 7 hours. I watched in horror as the two towers came crashing down, it would be days til we knew what had happened exactly and how it happened.

Anyone who knows the history, knows what happened, but if not Spoiler Alert!!!

This movie focuses on the main events of that fateful day, but through the eyes of airport personnel trying to figure out what was going on and depicts what (possibly) occurred on board United 93, the 4th plane that was apparently headed for Washington DC to another target and how the heroes aboard that plane (ordinary people like you and me) (possibly) banded together and tried to thwart this terrorist plot, taking the plane down and killing all on board.

The reason I keep saying possibly is that although this movie depicts an actual event, the information of what happened on United 93 is based solely on recollections from and interviews with loved ones of the passengers.

Regardless, I think this movie is as close to being the best kind of viewing experience possible.  I was on the edge of my seat throughout (all 3 times I’ve seen it), my heart was racing and most importantly, I felt I was right there watching the whole thing happen and when the credits roll abruptly at the end, I feel goosebumps and need to catch my breath…. Go See it!! if you haven’t yet!

Bottom Line – Every time I’ve watched this movie, I am completely glued to the screen and it’s a very emotional movie that still gives me goosebumps. Highly Recommended!!!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

6 thoughts on “United 93 (2006)

  1. Pingback: Captain Phillips (2013) | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2006 |

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

  5. Pingback: United 93 (2006) – Encore Review |

  6. Pingback: 2017 Birthday Fave #2 – United 93 (2006) – Encore Review 2 |

Let me Know what you think!!

