Man on the Moon (1999)


index“You’re insane, but you might also be brilliant.” – George Shapiro

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (In Theater, on DVD and 19 May 2013)

Brief Synopsis – The story of the misunderstood comedian Andy Kaufman

My Take on it – I didn’t know much about Andy Kaufman when I first saw this in the theater. All I knew was that he was a comedian on Taxi and SNL in the late 70’s.

I was enthralled when I first saw it and have enjoyed watching it every other time since.  Apparently the producers were down to choosing Ed Norton or Jim Carrey for the role in the end. I’m glad they chose Carrey since he does an amazing job.

Subsequently, I have researched a lot on him since and have seen a number of documentaries on his life and even though I didn’t all of his jokes, I understand what he was trying to do and definitely hit the mark more times than not.

Bottom Line – Great movie, fun which tries to explain Kaufman comic genius. Always loved this movie. Jim Carrey is amazing! Highly Recommended

Rating – Oscar Worthy

2 thoughts on “Man on the Moon (1999)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

Let me Know what you think!!

