Edge of Tomorrow (2014)


edge_of_tomorrow_2014“What I am about to tell you sounds crazy. But you have to listen to me. Your very lives depend on it. You see, this isn’t the first time. ” Lt. Col. Bill Cage

Number of Times Seen – 1 (2 Sep 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A soldier in a futuristic war gets caught in a time warp and keeps reliving the same day, he tries to use this ability to find a way to defeat an unbeatable enemy.

My Take on it – There have been numerous attempts at taking the premise of Groundhog Day (1993) and successfully adapting it to an action theme.

I believe that this time it finally worked.

Taking an event and showing it over and over can get very boring and tedious for the viewer snd the trick is to make each day remind you that it’s being repeated but also make u feel that you are in new unexplored territory at the same time.

I think that Tom Cruise was slightly miscast here purely because of his age, I think he needs to stop doing physically demanding roles because he is past his prime.

I really enjoyed the idea of basing much of the battle and invasion aspects so clearly on the D-Day invasion of Normandy.

I enjoyed the scientific explanations given for the time warp because it isn’t just a McGuffin but actually part of the plot.

Bottom Line – Great premise. They finally found a way to use the idea of Groundhog Day (1993) for an enjoyable action movie. Loved the comparisons to the storming of the beaches in Normandy. Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

15 thoughts on “Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. I would have to highly disagree with Tom Cruise being miscast. This is what the dude does best and at his age this is proof he can still do this, and perhaps well into his 60s. I will admit he’s looking a little rougher around the edges but who doesn’t eventually? Lol! He was rather fantastic here. But so too was Blunt. Man, Emily Blunt kicked butt!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

  4. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – May 2017 – Bill Paxton

  5. Pingback: I Do, I Do, I Do (2015) |

Let me Know what you think!!

