Meathead March – The Story of Us (1999) – MovieRob


 meathead march blogathonFor today’s one and only review of The Story of Us (1999), here are my thoughts on it

story of us“Love is just lust in disguise, and lust fades, so you damn well better be with someone who can stand you. ” – Stan

Number of Times Seen – 2 (24 Nov 2000 and 16 Mar 2015)

Brief Synopsis –A martied couple havingg problems for years decide to take a break iver the summer while the kids are away in order to decide whether to stay together or not.

My Take on it – This is a movie I saw years ago before I was married, divorced and remarried so I had hoped that my memories from back then were tainted because I hadn’t experienced anything that the characters do.

Unfortunately, my gut reaction back then was the same as it was now.

The movie just doesn’t convince the viewer enough about what kind of real relationship the characters have or whether besides their family life, things are worth fighting for.

I just didn’t care for the characters and also didn’t care what they would ultimately decide about their marriage.

Bruce Willis and Michelle Pfeiffer work together well here, and they both sucessfully pull off the flashbacks where they must play their characters at different ages, but they also don’t make me care about their relationship wjich is a shame.

I think that this movie falters because it just doesn’t know whether to classify itself as s comedy, a drama or a rom-com. It tries to mix and match all three and it loses focus.

Bottom Line – Doesn’t feel satisfying enough to make us really care what they decide. Willis and Pfeiffer work well together but we don’t get enough of their relathionship outside of family life to make an informed decision. Movie stumbles because it isn’t sure whether it wants to be a drama, comedy or rom-com.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – In a case of life imitating art, Bruce Willis was going through his own divorce with then-wife Demi Moore at the time of filming.  (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Meathead March – The Story of Us (1999) – MovieRob

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

Let me Know what you think!!

