Temporal Top Ten – 2007


2007
top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 125
Number of movies reviewed – 79 (Including 2 Encore Reviews)

To me, 2007 will always be a year of so many good movies, but few great movies.

Even the 5 BP nominees were far from being perfect and as u’ll see shortly, only two made my top ten. The other three just fall short of their potential IMHO.

If u’r paying attention, you’ll notice that I recently watched numerous films from this year in order to reevaluate my thought on them.

So far, this year was the hardest to decide on my top ten.

Guess I can say that I’m grateful to have seen a few great documentaries and foreign language films that helped populate this list because they really blew me away.

Update 11 Jul 2017 – In an unprecedented move, I have for the very first time replaced my #1 film of a year. Mr. Warmth was such an amazing Documentary that it truly deserves the top spot. All subsequent films have been moved down one notch.

Update 6 Aug 2017 – TimeCrimes has now become my #6. All subsequent films have been moved down one notch.

 

My Top Tenbeaufort

Honorable Mention #2 – BeaufortCounterfeiters_ver3

Honorable mention #1 – The Counterfeitersjuno

10. Junobeckoning silence

9. The Beckoning Silencelookout

8. The Lookoutalive day

7. Alive Day Memories: Home from Iraq

6. TimeCrimes

gone baby gone

5. Gone Baby Goneno country

4. No Country For Old Menpixar story

3. The Pixar Storyshadow

2. In The Shadow of the Moon

  1. Mr. Warmth: The Don Rickles Project

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 2007

  1. 1408
  2. 3:10 to Yuma
  3. 5 Centimeters Per Second
  4. 88 Minutes
  5. Alive Day Memories: Home from Iraq
  6. American Gangster
  7. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  8. Atonement
  9. August Rush
  10. AVP: Requiem
  11. Awake
  12. The Band’s Visit
  13. Battle For Terra
  14. Battlestar Galactica: Razor
  15. Beaufort
  16. Because I Said So
  17. The Beckoning Silence
  18. Bee Movie
  19. Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead
  20. The Bourne Ultimatum
  21. The Brave One
  22. Breach
  23. Bridge to Terabithia
  24. The Brothers Solomon
  25. The Bucket List
  26. Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee
  27. Charlie Bartlett
  28. Charlie Wilson’s War
  29. Cleaner
  30. The Contestant
  31. Control
  32. The Counterfeiters
  33. Dan in Real Life
  34. Day Zero
  35. Death At A Funeral
  36. Death Proof
  37. Death Sentence
  38. Disturbia
  39. Eastern Promises
  40. Enchanted
  41. Encounters At The End of the World
  42. Evan Almighty
  43. Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  44. Feast of Love
  45. The Final Season
  46. Fracture
  47. Ghost Rider
  48. The Golden Compass
  49. Gone Baby Gone
  50. Good Luck Chuck
  51. Grace Is Gone
  52. Gracie
  53. The Great Debaters
  54. Hank Aaron: ESPN SportsCentury
  55. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  56. The Heartbreak Kid
  57. Hitman
  58. Hoop Reality
  59. Hot Fuzz
  60. The Hunting Party
  61. I Am Legend
  62. I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry
  63. I Think I Love My Wife
  64. In Search of a Midnight Kiss
  65. In the Shadow of the Moon
  66. In the Valley of Elah
  67. Into the Wild
  68. The Invisible
  69. Juno
  70. The Kingdom
  71. The Kite Runner
  72. Knocked Up
  73. Lars and the Real Girl
  74. License to Wed
  75. Lions for Lambs
  76. Live Free or Die Hard  Encore Review
  77. The Lookout
  78. Lucky You
  79. The Man from Earth
  80. Martian Child
  81. Meet The Robinsons
  82. Michael Clayton
  83. Mighty Heart, A
  84. The Mist
  85. Mitch Albom’s For One More Day
  86. Mongol: The Rise of Genghis Khan
  87. Mr. Brooks
  88. Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium
  89. Mr. Warmth: The Don Rickles Project
  90. Music and Lyrics
  91. Music Within
  92. National Treasure: Book of Secrets
  93. Next
  94. The Nines
  95. No Country for Old Men
  96. Ocean’s Thirteen
  97. Once
  98. Perfect Stranger
  99. The Pixar Story
  100. Premonition
  101. Purple Violets
  102. Ratatouille
  103. Reign Over Me
  104. Rendition
  105. Reservation Road
  106. Resurrecting the Champ
  107. Rush Hour 3
  108. Shooter
  109. Shrek the Third
  110. Six days in June
  111. Spider-Man 3
  112. Stardust
  113. Sunshine
  114. Superbad
  115. Superman/Doomsday
  116. The Ten
  117. There Will Be Blood
  118. Timecrimes   Encore Review 
  119. Transformers
  120. Validation
  121. The Visitor
  122. Waitress
  123. We Own the Night
  124. With a Little Patience
  125. YPF

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 2007

  1. Except for #1, I haven’t seen any of these. I would include Ratatouille and Lars and the Real Girl, but otherwise, l’d have to say this was a fairly weak year for, as you said, great films.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

  3. Huh. Would you believe the only films on this list I’ve seen are your #4 and your $3. Of those two, I liked Gone Baby Gone a lot. No Country, however, does very little for me – I don’t think the characters interesting in the least. It is probably my least favorite Coen flick.

    Obviously, I haven’t seen all that many films from this year, but I think my favorite (at least of those on your list of viewed films) is probably Enchanted. I also think Knocked Up is pretty brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked knocked up a lot the first time I saw it. I still find it fun, but not as great as it felt originally. This was a very difficult top ten for me because as I stated in my intro, lots of very good movies but not great ones. I wasnt the biggest fan of enchanted. No Country probably shouldn’t have been so high but it’s a great story just told in a very obscure way that only the Coen brothers could do

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 2007 was a great year. Juno is definitely worthy of your top ten along with Gone Baby Gone and The Lookout (so underrated). My list would probably include August Rush and Disturbia for sure. Maybe Atonement. I really enjoyed Enchanted and Bridge to Terabithia also 🙂 Its not a great movie but The Invisible had a pretty good premise.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

