Temporal Top Ten – 1991


1991

 

 

 

top ten

 

 

Number of movies seen from this year – 133
Number of movies reviewed – 53 (Including 6 Encore Reviews)

 

1991 was an important and impactful year for my movie watching abilities.

I was a junior in high school for the first half of the year and continued my weekly cinema visits including Saturday night midnight showings.

From September, I was a Senior with an extremely light schedule that allowed me to be home every day by 1230.

With little to no homework and work in my parents store on the late afternoon, I started to watch at least two movies from my vast video collection every day.

I even still have the list in a box in my attic. 😉

In addition, I also spent a lot of time in the cinema over the weekends. Looking over the list, many of them were originally seen in the theater. (All of my top ten definitely were seen in the theater) 😉

My #1 once again is a movie that probably doesn’t populate many people’s top tens, but I have always loved it for its characters and message about life. I also happened to see it for the first time on my 17th birthday in the theater having no real clue as to what it was about. In addition, it also features my favorite movie quote about movie watching. 😉

My top 5 are all movies I can watch over and over and never get bored. I know them all practically by heart.

My Top Tenbackdraft

10. Backdraftboyz

9. Boyz in the Hoodreagrding henry

8. Regarding Henryt2

7. Terminator 2: Judgement Daybeauty

6. Beauty and the Beastjfk

5. JFKCity Slickers

4. City Slickersdead-again

3. Dead Againsilence

2. Silence of the Lambsgrand canyon

1. Grand Canyon

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 1991

  1. Across the Tracks
  2. The Addams Family
  3. An American Tail: Fievel Goes West
  4. Another You
  5. At Play in the Fields of the Lord
  6. Backdraft
  7. Barton Fink
  8. Beauty and the Beast  Encore Review
  9. Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey
  10. Billy Bathgate
  11. Bingo
  12. Blue Desert
  13. Body Parts
  14. Boyz n the Hood
  15. Bugsy
  16. The Butcher’s Wife
  17. Cape Fear
  18. City Slickers  Encore Review
  19. Class Action
  20. Cold Heaven
  21. The Commitments
  22. Company Business
  23. Cup Final
  24. Curly Sue
  25. The Dark Wind
  26. Dead Again   Encore Review
  27. Dead and Alive: The Race for Gus Farace
  28. Deceived
  29. December
  30. Defending Your Life
  31. Defenseless
  32. Delirious
  33. Doc Hollywood
  34. The Doctor
  35. Dogfight
  36. Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead
  37. The Doors
  38. Double Impact
  39. Drop Dead Fred
  40. Dutch
  41. Dying Young
  42. Eve Of Destruction
  43. F/X2
  44. Father of the Bride
  45. The Fisher King
  46. The Five Heartbeats
  47. Flight of the Intruder
  48. Flirting
  49. For The Boys
  50. Frankie and Johnny
  51. Fried Green Tomatoes
  52. Golden Years
  53. Grand Canyon  Encore Review
  54. Guilty by Suspicion
  55. The Hard Way
  56. Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man
  57. He Said, She Said
  58. Hearts of Darkness: A Filmmaker’s Apocalypse
  59. Hook
  60. Hot Shots!
  61. Hudson Hawk
  62. If Looks Could Kill
  63. The Indian Runner
  64. In The Line of Duty: Manhunt in the Dakotas
  65. JFK   Encore Review
  66. Johnny Suede
  67. Jungle Fever
  68. K2
  69. King Ralph
  70. A Kiss Before Dying
  71. L.A. Story
  72. The Last Boy Scout
  73. Life Stinks
  74. Little Man Tate
  75. The Man in the Moon
  76. The Marrying Man
  77. Mission of the Shark: The Saga of the USS Indianapolis
  78. Mississippi Masala
  79. Mobsters
  80. My Girl
  81. My Own Private Idaho
  82. The Naked Gun 2½: The Smell of Fear
  83. Necessary Roughness
  84. Never Forget
  85. New Jack City
  86. Not Without My Daughter
  87. Nothing But Trouble
  88. The Object of Beauty
  89. Once Around
  90. One Good Cop
  91. Only The Lonely
  92. Oscar
  93. Other People’s Money
  94. Out for Justice
  95. The Perfect Weapon
  96. Point Break
  97. The Prince of Tides
  98. Pure Luck
  99. Quarrel, The
  100. Queens Logic
  101. A Rage in Harlem
  102. Rambling Rose
  103. Regarding Henry
  104. Ricochet
  105. Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves
  106. The Rocketeer
  107. Run
  108. Rush
  109. Scenes from a Mall
  110. Shadows and Fog
  111. Shattered
  112. Showdown in Little Tokyo
  113. The Silence of the Lambs  Encore Review
  114. Sleeping with the Enemy
  115. Soapdish
  116. Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country
  117. Stone Cold
  118. Suburban Commando
  119. The Super
  120. Switch
  121. Talent for the Game
  122. The Taking of Beverly Hills
  123. Terminator 2: Judgment Day
  124. Thelma & Louise
  125. Toy Soldiers
  126. True Colors
  127. Under Suspicion
  128. Until the End of the World
  129. V.I. Warshawski
  130. What About Bob?
  131. Where Angels Fear to Tread
  132. White Fang
  133. Year of the Gun

 

 

9 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 1991

  1. It’s great to find out more about your movie habits. At college I had more flexible hours of study and was able to rent film at my local video store as long as I gave them back by 6 i could rent whatever movie I wanted so I just got a list from IMDB and worked my way through them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

  3. Bizarre. I haven’t seen 8 of the 10 movies on your ’07 list, but I’ve seen all 10 of the ’91 films.

    I agree with Dead Again being on this list. A lot. That flick is why I fell in love with Branagh. I’d have Silence of the Lambs number 1, though. And, oddly, the only one I didn’t like at all was Grand Canyon, your number 1. Though, it should be noted, I watched it only twice, both times when I was an adolescent (probably around 15 and 17 ish). I wasn’t the target audience then, as I recall. I wonder if I’d like it more now that I’m older.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Again, another amazing list. Backdraft is great, Terminator 2 should be way higher and weirdly I’ve never heard of the number 1 choice, let alone seen it! Good post as always.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

