Temporal Top Ten – 1989


1989

 

top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 138
Number of movies reviewed – 66 (Including 7 Encore Reviews)

1989 was another great year for movies.

Choosing my #1 was not an easy task because I couldn’t decide between my eventual #1 and #2.

They are both amazing movies in their own right, but the fact that they are so different and have completely different cinematic presence made it so difficult to decide.

I ultimately went with the movie that makes me feel great every time that I see it because it is so uplifting.  My #2 has had a strong influence on my life also since we all have garnered so much from teachers and of the eventual 5 Best Picture nominees, it, IMHO, is the best.

As I’m sure you noticed,  only two of the 5 nominees made my list.  The other 3 movies; Driving Miss Daisy, Born on the 4th of July and  My Left Foot are all very powerful movies, but just aren’t as strong and memorable as my top ten.

As you’ll see, this was a year where the majority of my top ten are “light-hearted” movies, as a 15 year old, I saw every one of these movies in the theater and they all have had a significant influence on my life and my movie watching taste.

Enjoy!

My Top Tenbatman

10. Batmansee no evil

9. See No Evil, Hear No Evillittle mermaid

8. The Little Mermaidglory

7. Gloryfield of dreams

6. Field of Dreamsbttf2

5. Back to the Future Part IIparenthood

4. Parenthoodijlc

3. Indiana Jones and The Last Crusadedps

2. Dead Poet’s Societyharry met sally

1.  When Harry Met Sally…

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 1989

  1. The Abyss
  2. All Dogs Go To Heaven
  3. Always
  4. Back to the Future Part II Encore Review Encore Review 2
  5. Batman    Encore Review
  6. Best of the Best
  7. The Big Picture
  8. Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure
  9. Black Rain
  10. Blaze
  11. Blind Fury
  12. Bloodhounds of Broadway
  13. Born on the Fourth of July
  14. Breaking In
  15. The ‘Burbs
  16. Casualties of War
  17. Chances Are
  18. Checking Out
  19. Cousins
  20. Crimes and Misdemeanors
  21. Criminal Law
  22. Crusoe
  23. Cyborg
  24. Dad
  25. Dead Bang
  26. Dead Calm
  27. Dead Poets Society
  28. DeepStar Six
  29. Disorganized Crime
  30. Do the Right Thing
  31. Dream a Little Dream
  32. The Dream Team
  33. Driving Miss Daisy
  34. A Dry White Season
  35. Enemies, a Love Story
  36. The Fabulous Baker Boys
  37. Family Business
  38. Farewell to the King
  39. Fat Man and Little Boy
  40. Field of Dreams
  41. Fletch Lives
  42. For All Mankind
  43. Ghostbusters II
  44. Gleaming the Cube
  45. Glory
  46. Great Balls of Fire!
  47. Gross Anatomy
  48. Harlem Nights
  49. Heart of Dixie
  50. Heathers
  51. Henry V
  52. Her Alibi
  53. Homer and Eddie
  54. Honey, I Shrunk the Kids
  55. How I Got Into College
  56. I’m From Hollywood
  57. Immediate Family
  58. In Country
  59. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
  60. An Innocent Man
  61. Jacknife
  62. The January Man
  63. K-9
  64. The Karate Kid, Part III
  65. Kickboxer
  66. Kiki’s Delivery Service
  67. Last Exit to Brooklyn
  68. Lean on Me
  69. Lethal Weapon 2
  70. Leviathan
  71. Licence to Kill
  72. Listen to Me
  73. The Little Mermaid  Encore Review
  74. Lock Up
  75. Lonesome Dove
  76. Longtime Companion
  77. Look Who’s Talking
  78. Loverboy
  79. Major League
  80. The Mighty Quinn
  81. Millennium
  82. Miss Firecracker
  83. Music Box
  84. My Left Foot
  85. Milo and Otis
  86. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  87. New York Stories
  88. Next of Kin
  89. No Holds Barred
  90. Old Gringo
  91. The Package
  92. Parenthood Encore Review
  93. Parents
  94. Penn & Teller Get Killed
  95. Pet Sematary
  96. Physical Evidence
  97. Pink Cadillac
  98. Prancer
  99. The Punisher
  100. Quantum Leap – Pilot
  101. Red Scorpion
  102. Relentless
  103. Renegades
  104. Road House
  105. Roger & Me
  106. Say Anything…
  107. Scandal
  108. Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills
  109. Sea of Love
  110. Second Sight
  111. See No Evil, Hear No Evil
  112. Sex, Lies, and Videotape
  113. Shag
  114. She-Devil
  115. She’s Out of Control
  116. Skin Deep
  117. Slipstream
  118. Society
  119. Speed Zone!
  120. Star Trek V: The Final Frontier
  121. Staying Together
  122. Steel Magnolias
  123. The Tall Guy
  124. Tango & Cash
  125. Three Fugitives
  126. Triumph of the Spirit
  127. Turner & Hooch
  128. UHF
  129. Uncle Buck
  130. The War of the Roses
  131. Weekend at Bernie’s
  132. Welcome Home
  133. We’re No Angels
  134. When Harry Met Sally... Encore Review Encore Review 2
  135. Who’s Harry Crumb?
  136. Winter People
  137. The Wizard
  138. Worth Winning

 

 

11 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 1989

    • Never heard of parenthood? It’s a great Ron Howard flick starring Steve Martin. SNEHNE is my favorite Gene Wilder-Richard Pryor collaboration about a blind guy and a deaf guy who ‘witness’ a murder

      Like

  1. Definitely hard to decide between #1 & #2. Both are fantastic. In the end, I think I would go with the same order you did, though.

    I’d have Glory 3rd. And I don’t think Back to the Future 2 would make a list I compiled. I think the first in that trilogy genius, and the third just as strong. But I always thought the second the weak link.

    Like

    • glad we agree abt #1 and #2.

      I havent seen glory in years (eventhough I know I should) and perhaps when I do, I’ll bump it up a bit.

      Regarding BTTF2, Yes, the first is amazing. I love the 2nd one because it knows how to tell a fun continuation story and still doesnt take itself seriously.

      I personally think the third movie is the weak link, because it got TOO campy, ut I will always love the series as a whole

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

Let me Know what you think!!

