Temporal Top Ten – 2005


2005

top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 93
Number of movies reviewed – 49 (including 2 Encore Reviews)

 

2005 was definitely a weak year for movies overall IMHO.

As you will see from my list, it is populated by very few movies nominated for the mainstream awards which usually is considered a stamp of excellence.

Only two of the 5 Best Picture nominees appears here and they come in at #3 and #6.

My #1 is the final chapter of one of my favorite franchises (which is thankfully being reignited this year) and truly was the culmination of nearly 30 years of tales.

Ironically my #2 is the beginning of a new franchise that reinvigorated the genre of superhero movies and has created the benchmark for that genre ever since.

My #3 is a great retelling of a true story about avenging a terrorist act and how violence can create a never ending loop of more violence.

#4 is one of my favorite rom-com which combines a love story with baseball.

#5 is a great biopic of two musicians who had troubled lives and needed each other to survive and endure.

#6 is another biopic that was nominated for BP that year and tells the tale of how the media can affect politics and vice versa even during the turbulent 1950’s.

#7 is one of Judd Apatow’s best comedies that shows his future potential in the genre.

#8 is my favorite of a beloved 8 part movie franchise.

#9 is a great biopic about FDR’s attempt to recuperate from polio.

And finally #10 is another great Cameron Crowe movie with an amazing soundtrack.

UPDATE 16 Feb 2016 – I have added a new film as my #8 pick, thus bumping all the rest down one notch, my previous #10 is now an honorable mention

UPDATE 4 Jun 2017 – I have added a new film as my #6 pick, thus bumping all the rest down one notch, my previous #10 is now an honorable mention #1

My Top Tenelizabethtown

Honorable Mention #2 – Elizabethtownwarm springs

Honorable Mention #1 – Warm Springsgoblet of fire

10. Harry Potter and The Goblet of Firegrizzly man

9. Grizzly Man40 yr old

8. The 40 Year Old Virgingood night

7. Good Night and Good Luck

6. Serenitywalk the line

5. Walk the Linefever pitch

4. Fever Pitchmunich

3. Munichbatman

2. Batman Beginssith

1. Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 2005

  1. The 40-Year-Old Virgin
  2. Aeon Flux
  3. Are We There Yet?
  4. Assault on Precinct 13
  5. Batman Begins
  6. Brick
  7. Brokeback Mountain
  8. Broken Flowers
  9. Capote
  10. Chaos
  11. Cheaper by the Dozen 2
  12. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  13. Cinderella Man
  14. Coach Carter
  15. Colditz
  16. Descent, The
  17. Elektra
  18. Elizabethtown
  19. Empire Falls
  20. Everything Is Illuminated
  21. The Family Stone
  22. Fantastic Four
  23. Fathers and Sons
  24. Fever PitchΒ  Encore Review
  25. Flight 175: As The World Watched
  26. Flightplan
  27. Game 6
  28. Good Night, and Good Luck.
  29. Great Raid, The
  30. Grizzly Man
  31. Guess Who?
  32. Hard Candy
  33. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  34. Havoc
  35. A History of Violence
  36. Hitch
  37. Hostage
  38. The Interpreter
  39. The Island
  40. The Jacket
  41. Jane Doe: Now You See It, Now You Don’t
  42. Jarhead
  43. Joyeux Noel
  44. Just Friends
  45. Just Like Heaven
  46. King Kong
  47. Kingdom of Heaven
  48. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
  49. Lego Star Wars: Revenge of the Brick
  50. Lie with Me
  51. The Longest Yard
  52. Lord of War
  53. A Lot Like Love
  54. Loverboy
  55. Magnificent Desolation: Walking on the Moon
  56. Mantle
  57. March of the Penguins
  58. McBride: The Chameleon Murder
  59. Monster-in-Law
  60. Mr. & Mrs. Smith
  61. Munich
  62. Must Love Dogs
  63. North Country
  64. Proof
  65. The Proposition
  66. Richard Jeni: A Big Steaming Pile of Me
  67. The River King
  68. Romance & Cigarettes
  69. Rumor Has It…
  70. Sahara
  71. School of Life
  72. Serenity
  73. Sin City
  74. Sky High
  75. The Squid and the Whale
  76. Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith Encore Review
  77. Syriana
  78. The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada
  79. The Tribe
  80. The Upside of Anger
  81. V for Vendetta
  82. Walk the Line
  83. War of the Worlds
  84. Warm Springs
  85. The Weather Man
  86. Wedding Crashers
  87. West Bank Story
  88. When Do We Eat?
  89. Where the Truth Lies
  90. Whoopi: Back to Broadway – The 20th Anniversary
  91. xXx: State of the Union
  92. Yours, Mine & Ours
  93. Zathura: A Space Adventure

 

13 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 2005

  1. Great idea to make a top 10 list for different years! I may have to copy you and make lists from other years, as well. πŸ™‚ But how in the heck did V for Vendetta not make your top 10??? Actually, V for Vendetta was released in 2006; did you see a special screening in 2005?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Only saw it once and I liked it but didn’t love it. Gotta rewatch it tho. Its on my shortlist. Tnx Gary. Feel free. I go according to the IMDB release date not when I saw it check out all if the years ive done so far (there are 30 I think)

      Like

      • Oh, actually if you look at V for Vendetta on the page it says it was released March, 2006; if you pull the movie up it reads made in 2005. I remember watching it opening night in the spring of 2006. I remember b/c I saw the midnight showing and then went back the next night to watch it again. One of my all time faves! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Im gonna try and bump this up my list due to ur enthusiasm Gary. Again my classification always goes by the indb date which in this case is 2005. Tnx for stopping by and commenting!

          Like

          • Yeah, the only reason I am even discussing the date for V for Vendetta is b/c I think 2006 may very well be the best year of releases I have witnessed. V for Vendetta is one of those on that 2006 list. If you look at the front page for V for Vendetta it says the releases was 2006; but if you type it up on the search bar it reads 2005. But I count it as 2006 b/c that’s when it had its theatrical release. I guess IMDB goes by 2005 b/c that’s when it was shot. I only bring this up b/c that 2006 list I have is important and V for Vendetta and Hard Candy both are on that list and are in my top 5 favorite films of all-time. I think I need to make an entry in the near future of all the releases in 2006 and why it was such a great year. And honestly, I thought last year was really strong, as well. I had a hard time making a 2014 top 10 list.

            Like

            • I definitely agree that 2014 was a strong movie year. My two favorite years are 1994 and 1999 because they both had lots and lots of great movies.

              I actually found 2005 to be quite weak and 2006 wasn’t exceptional, but still a year with some great films.

              according to what I understand about how IMDB works, if a movie is released anywhere during a specific year, that is the release year. I doesn’t matter when the gala premier takes place.

              As far as V for Vendetta goes, it was shown at a film festival in Austin in Dec 2005 so they gave it a 2005 release date.

              I understand why it’s important to you to have it in ur 2006 list, but there is no rule that you MUST use the IMDB classification.

              I personally just prefer to use it out on convenience.

              As always I appreciate your support and thanks for stopping by!

              Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

  3. Bold choice with Star Wars over Batman, Munich or Good Night and Good Luck. I do need to go back and rewatch the prequels though – especially before December. Great list as always.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

