Argumentative August #42 – The Hurricane (1999) – MovieRob


courtroom

Ryan and I would like to once again welcome you to another review for our Argumentative August Blogathon.

 

This next film, The Hurricane (1999) is being reviewed by me

 

Let’s see what I thought of this movie….

______________________________________

 “[to Lesra] Hate put me in prison. Love’s gonna bust me out.” – Ruben “Hurricane” Carterhurricane

Number of Times Seen – 3 (February 2000, 22 April 2008 and 2 Aug 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A teenager reads a book about a wrongfully imprisoned ex-boxer and tries to find a way to help him regain his freedom.

My Take on it – Biopics can really be hit or miss depending on a lot of different factors.

This movie loses a lot of its ‘punch’ because it tries too hard to try and be a movie with a message instead of trying to tell us a moving story.

There were scenes where I felt they were trying harder to focus on Denzel Washington’s performance instead of trying to advance the story.

The way the story is told feels very preachy and I prefer stories being told straight to us instead of trying to cram something down our throats.

Personally, I wasn’t thrilled with the way this story was told because they don’t really present enough evidence to prove or disprove his innocence in a clear cut manner which is frustrating when trying to watch a movie based on a true event.

I have seen numerous movies by Norman Jewison and I expected much more from him here.

The one point I must concede is that the songs for this movie are excellent.

The Bob Dylan song from the 70’s fits to the tone very well and I found the song Get Down on it sung by Roots to be excellent.

Check out the Bob Dylan song below
 

 

Bottom Line – Very preachy film that feels like it is trying more to highlight Washington’s performance instead of the story itself. Lots of holes in the plot is exacerbated by the fact that there is much controversy as to the truth of the story being told. Music tho is excellent. Expected much more from Jewison.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The picture of Malcolm X in Hurricane’s cell is actually a picture of Denzel Washington as Malcolm X from the movie Malcolm X (1992).(From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Argumentative August #42 – The Hurricane (1999) – MovieRob

  1. My problem with the movie was the Dan Hedaya character; it seemed like they were reducing what was most likely a racist system to one character constantly hounding Carter, and that felt wrong, to say the least. Considering Jewison’s track record on race-related dramas, I also expected more from him. Despite that, I did like the movie more than you did overall, as I do think it does present compelling evidence of why Carter shouldn’t have been found guilty, I liked Washington’s performance a lot, and I like how the movie focused on the kid that helps him rather than his white caretakers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

Let me Know what you think!!

