October Stephen King Blogathon – Day 8 – Nightmares & Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King (2006) – You Know They Got A Hellava Band


This is my 8th of 31 reviews of Stephen King adaptations as part of the joint Blogathon that Darren (of Movie Reviews 101) and I are running this month in honor of the great horror writer.

Stop by every day to read more and more from us and from other guest bloggers.

__________________________________________________________________
You Know They Got A Hellava BandYeah, well, I told you this is an adventure” – Clark

Number of Times Seen – 1 (4 Oct 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A couple on a trip across country get lost in Oregon and end up in a town populated by dead music legendsץ

My Take on it – When I read this premise, I thought it was an interesting idea with lots of potential and hoped that they would do this one properly.

Unfortunately, the story feels like a very mediocre Twilight one episode that just doesn’t go anywhere with its ideas.

I’ve never read the short story, so it’s possible that the way it is written is much better than the way this was eventually filmed.

The only thing that made this with watching was the way that they portrayed all of those deceased musicians.

Like I said before this one has a lot of lost potential and it leaves you with so much high expectations as to what could have been, but the way it was done is pretty flat.

Bottom Line – An interesting idea that goes no where very fast.  Perhaps the story itself is more entertaining, but this was only good to be able to see all the characters appear.  Not the best episode to end the series on tho IMHO because it leaves you expecting bigger things from it.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Stephen King describes the story as referencing the inherent creepiness of the high mortality rate among young rock musicians. (From Wikipedia)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “October Stephen King Blogathon – Day 8 – Nightmares & Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King (2006) – You Know They Got A Hellava Band

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2006 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.