Oscar Optimization – Brooklyn (2015) – Encore Review


Since it’s been nearly two months since I watched most of the Oscar Nominated movies, I decided to rewatch many of them and reevaluate my thoughts on these films.  I am rewatching them in no particular order.  Here are my Optimized thoughts on Brooklyn (2015) :


brooklyn“Homesickness is like most sicknesses. It will pass. ” – Father Flood

Number of Times Seen – 2 (21 Dec 2015 and 21 Feb 2016)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A young Irish immigrant to America in the early 1950’s finds a new life and love in places she never imagined.

My Take on it – This was actually the Best Picture Nominee that I was very interested in watching again because it was one I liked but still wanted to like even more.

I actually feel that I have achieved that with this encore viewing because I now appreciate it more than I did before.

That being said, I still would rank this #7 out of 8 (The Big Short (2015) is still at the bottom, but we’ll see if that changes when I rewatch that later this week)

I liked the way that this movie is both a romance, but also a coming of age film.

We see how the main character Ellis acts so differently in all 3 stages of the film. Her character grows and we get to watch it happen as time goes by for her based on her life, her companions and of course her experiences.

The whole story works quite well, but I still have the feeling that I wanted a bit more from this story.

The performances were amazing here especially Saoirse Ronan who is superb as Ellis.

We are easily transported back in time because the production work seems so perfect and authentic.

This story is very good and as inspiring as it is, I still wish there was more added to inspire us to a higher degree.

Bottom Line – This is both a coming of age movie, but also a romantic love story. Liked how the characters interacted throughout and it’s hard to say anything really bad about this film. Everything works, but for some reason, I still wanted more and felt something was missing despite it coming together so well. Excellent performances namely by Ronan.  Does a wonderful job transporting us back in time. Very pleasant movie that I wish was even more inspiring. Recommended!

Oscar Best Picture Worthy? – Well, I enjoyed this movie, but I’m not quite sure it’s deserving of a Best Picture nomination.  It’s very good, but definitely not great.  It unfortunately lacks an extra oomph to make it great.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The Irish beach scenes were filmed at Curracloe Strand. The location was also used for the filming of the D-Day sequence in Saving Private Ryan (1998). (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Oscar Optimization – Brooklyn (2015) – Encore Review

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Nice assessment. I too liked that it was a romance, but as you say, a real coming of age story too. For the first time in a romance in a long time, I felt like there was tangible things at stake for the main character that went far beyond romance.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was perfect. It’s making me miss this film, which is strange as I’m still grappling with what I thought about it. Now that you bring it up, it did feel lacking in some way, even though I don’t think there was anything truly missing. Maybe that’s a sign of what we expect from films, even of this nature. I definitely need to see it again and actually write about it. Thanks for that reminder too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 2015 |

Let me Know what you think!!

