Genre Guesstimation – Office Space (1999)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Drew of Drew’s Movie Reviews we will be reviewing our favorite Heist Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of March by sending them to drewsheist@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Great choice Drew!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Heist Films…

office space“I’ll be honest with you, I love his music. I do. I’m a Michael Bolton fan. For my money, I don’t know if it gets any better than when he sings “When a Man Loves a Woman”. – Bob Slydell

Number of Times Seen – 1 (10 Mar 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Three bored office workers think of a scheme to get back at their cruel boss when they discover that they are about to be fired.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I have for some strange reason been avoiding for years.

The idea is hilariously done and we get both a parody and satire of office worker life.

I especially loved how they were able to use a simple sub plot from Superman III and were able to use it to the fullest.

The cast is superb and they all help make this feel more realistic but also hilarious at the same time.

There are so many small subtle occurances that work so well here but one really needs to pay attention to catch them.

Can’t wait to see this again!

Bottom Line – Hilarious movie with a great concept. Really loved the way they reused a Superman sub plot to the full effect here. Excellent cast helps make this even better. I can’t believe it took me so long to finally see this. Really enjoyed the subtleties thrown in that you really need to pay attention to in order to fully grasp. Highly recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The iconic red stapler coveted by Milton was created for the film by the prop department. They needed a bright enough color to be seen on film and chose red. After the film was released, Swingline began to receive requests from customers for red staplers. Having stopped offering red a number of years before, they made the decision to start offering the color once more. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Most definitely. Such an ingenious concept that works so well despite clearly crediting another film with the idea. Really enjoyed this one!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Office Space (1999)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur March Finale – Inside Man (2006) – Drew’s Movie Reviews |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – Mar 2016 |

  4. I think you need to get serious about your flair. LOL Hey, I can’t believe you hadn’t seen this. I am so happy you experienced it. This is up there in my fave comedies. How about the gangsta rap music when he’s stomping on the printer? All time! It just goes to show you, there are still gems out there, even after all the films you’ve seen!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

