Genre Grandeur – The Goonies (1985) – MovieRob (Encore Review)


adventure

For this month’s next review for Genre Grandeur – Adventure Films, here’s a review of The Goonies (1985) by me.

Thanks again to Damien of Riley on Film for choosing this month’s genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Summer of Serendipitous Anachronisms She has chosen quite a unique genre and we will be reviewing our favorite Derivative Work Movies.

Here’s Summer to explain her choice:

Basically it is anything based or inspired by pre-existing source

for example:

Amelie takes its relationships from the Luncheon of the Boating Party

The Magnificent Seven is borrowed from the Seven Samurai

Sunday in the Park with George is based on painting by George Seurat

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead is loosely based on Hamlet

My Own Private Idaho borrows from Henry the IV

Cosi is about a director directing the musical Cosi Fan Tutti

Pride Prejudice and Zombies borrows from Pride and Prejudice

Clueless borrows from the novel Emma

Monty Python and the Holy Grail borrows from the Arthurian Legend

Basically a film that borrows from pre-existing source but reinvents the source material into something else

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of June by sending them to derivativesummer@movierob.net  Try to think out of the box! Great choice Summer!

Let’s see what I thought of this movie:

_________________________________
goonies“Home? What home? In a couple more hours, it ain’t gonna be home anymore. Come on, guys, this is our time. Our last chance to see if there really is any rich stuff. We’ve got to. ” – Mikey

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count  (Theater, DVD, 2 Jun 2013 and 24 May 2016)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A group of kids find a treasure map and hope to save their families’ homes from a developer who is about to foreclose on them by seeking out the long lost pirates treasure.

My Take on it – When Damien chose Adventure movies for this month’s theme, I was actually quite excited because I knew that this movie would make the list since it is one of my all-time favorite movies.

As a klid, I loved this film and saw it more than once in the theater (eventhough I was only 10) and when it came out on cable, I saw it so many times, I knew it all by heart.

I have seen it lots and lots of times since and I wonder if I now enjoy it even more than I did when I was a kid.

To me, the characters in this film are quite iconic despite feeling like a stereotypical group of teens in a movie or book; we get the brain, the fat kid, the blabbermouth, the sick kid, the beautiful girl, her best friend and of course the older brother.

Obviously, they mix and match some of the stereotypes here, but any way you look at it, they still hit the stereotypes on the mark and that’s part of what makes this group work.  They each have their strengths and weaknesses that help them move through the adventure.

The bad guys are also typical movie criminals; they can masterfully evade and escape the authorities, but get tripped up by a bunch of smart kids.

This is one of the best adventure movies featuring kids and it is such an iconic 80’s film above all.

The music is very catchy and I even found myself humming along to the theme music and the Cyndi Lauper song without even noticing.

Here they both are:

The cast of young actors is really superb and it’s unfortunate that most of them have disappeared on screen in the 30+ years since this movie came out.

The stand out among the young cast is Sean Astin who is one of the few here who has kept his career afloat in the interim years.

If you haven’t yet seen this movie, you really should.

It truly is one of the best adventure movies ever made IMHO!!

Bottom Line – Amazing movie that I love now as much (if not more) than I did as a kid. The characters are quite iconic despite being stereotypical. The bad guys are stumbling goons that can deceive the law easily, but have trouble dealing with a bunch of kids.  One of the best movies about the adventure of a group of kids and is definitely considered an 80’s staple.  Really fun story that as a kid my friends and I would try to imitate. Excellent music that is quite catchy and I found myself humming along throughout the film.  Awesome cast of young actor who have mostly disappeared since this movie came out.  Astin stands out among them all and is one of the few who’s career has endured. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  According to Sean Astin, he was allowed to keep the treasure map used in the film. Several years later his mother Patty Duke discovered it, thought it was just a crinkled piece of paper, and threw it in the trash. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

8 thoughts on “Genre Grandeur – The Goonies (1985) – MovieRob (Encore Review)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur – Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981) – MovieRob (Encore Review) |

  3. Pingback: Genre Grandeur May Finale – Castaway – Riley on Film |

  4. Pingback: reblogged: Genre Grandeur May Finale – Castaway – Riley on Film | Riley on Film

  5. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

  6. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – May 2016 |

  7. Pingback: The Goonies (1985) – Encore Review |

Let me Know what you think!!

