Random Hearts (1999)


random hearts“You wanna know why, and there’s no why.” – Kay

Number of Times Seen – 2 (14 Oct 1999 and 19 Jul 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A police detective and a congresswoman meet after their spouses are killed in a plane crash, the question is whether they were carrying on an affair or was it a coincidence that they were next to each other on the plane.

My Take on it – This was a movie that I saw on a date nearly 17 years ago.

I recall hating it then, but figured that I must have been mistaken because both Harrison Ford and Kirsten Scott Thomas are very capable actors.

So I decided to rewatch it, hoping to have my perceptions of the film changed.

Unfortunately, I think I disliked it even more (if that was possible) this time around.

The two stars have absolutely no chemistry together and despite an interesting premise, they drag it on way too much here and it gets so boring in a few scenes, I even contemplated (no, not really) turning it off because it was so bad.

I kept wishing through all of these boring scenes that it was too bad that the writers decided to kill the more interesting spouses of the two couples instead of getting rid of these two bores that have lost any possible chemistry.

There is a sub-plot about dirty cops that keeps popping up throughout the film and even that plot wasn’t in any way interesting to follow because we knew the truth the whole time.

Next time that I have an urge to rewatch this film, I’m gonna look back on this review and run the other direction

Bottom Line – Interesting premise that just bores and bores. Can’t believe how uninteresting Ford and Scott-Thomas make this.  They have no chemistry together and I kept wishing that they had been on that plane instead of their spouses. Even the mystery subplot is boring here.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Based on the novel by Warren Adler, the film rights were obtained soon after the novel’s release in 1984. However the film then languished in “development hell” for 15 years. In the 1980s, Dustin Hoffman was attached to star in the film but later withdrew as he did not like the earlier drafts of the script. By the 1990s, Kevin Costner was attached to star and James L. Brooks was attached to direct it, though this never came to fruition either. Eventually, Harrison Ford and Sydney Pollack showed interest in the project and it finally went into production.  (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Random Hearts (1999)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1999 |

Let me Know what you think!!

