Movies From the Hat IV #18 – Ghezal’s Pick – My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002)


This is my 2477th Review

Thanks to Ghezal of Ghezal Plus Movies for this recommendation.


my big fat greek wedding“What do you mean he don’t eat no meat? [the entire room stops, in shock] Oh, that’s okay. I make lamb.” – Aunt Voula

Number of Times Seen – 2 (9 Sep 2002 and 4 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A 30 year old Greek American woman must deal with her large and meddling family while trying to find love in suburban Chicago.

 Take on it – I recall seeing this film when it came out and enjoying it because it had such a refreshing and original feel to it.

The romantic comedy genre is overloaded and it’s not easy to find one that overflows with originality like this one does.

They do a great job here of keeping things fun and they also know how to toe the fine line when dealing with ethnic and racial issues with the perfect amount of tact that no one really gets offended by it all.

The ethnic aspects are also done in such a way that most people can relate to some part of it no matter what your ethnic background really is and therefore it has universal appeal.

The characters are very stereotypical all around but that is done on purpose and it makes them even more endearing to us because of the way they speak and act.

The rom-com aspects work extremely well and Nia Vardalos and John Corbett have nice chemistry together.

My favorite character tho is the father because he is written is such an ethnic way that he not only is the epitome of the stereotypical “fill in the blank” ethnic father but also is hilarious with all of his antics, most especially the Windex that no one can ever forget.

The 90 minute runtime is perfect because we get enough of the story and characters without it being overdone.

Bottom Line – Extremely fun and original rom-com that does the Ethnic aspects so well that most people can relate in some way or another. The characters all feel very stereotypical but that endears us to them even more.  My favorite character is the father because he really epitomizes the ethnic father stereotype and who can ever forget his Windex comments. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Tom Hanks’ wife, Rita Wilson, saw the play and recommended that her husband produce a movie version. In an interview with the German magazine “Cinema,” Nia Vardalos mentioned that she hung up when Hanks called because she did not believe it was really him. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV #18 – Ghezal’s Pick – My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002)

  1. Fun fact! The film is shot primarily in my hometown of Toronto so every time I happen to be in Greektown, I think to myself “oh hey! That building was an establishing shot in MBFGW :)”

    Fantastic review, Rob. Have you or are you planning of watching its sequel?

    Like

  2. He, he, I laughed so much with this one as it kept reminding me of my best friend who is…Greek 😉 As much as it is a generalist, stereotypical depiction, there are still some things that have a little truth to them.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

  4. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 2002 |

Let me Know what you think!!

