Movies From the Hat IV #32 – Niall’s Pick – What About Bob? (1991)


This is my 2491st Review

Thanks to Niall of The Raging Fluff for this recommendation.

what-about-bob “[speaking to workers in a mental hospital] It reminds me of my favorite poem, which is, “Roses are red, violets are blue, I’m a schizophrenic… and so am I!” – Bob

Number of Times Seen – 2 (Theater in 1991 and 7 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A psychiatrist on vacation with his family is stalked by a new patient and can’t understand why his family seems to be attached to this man who he can’t stand.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I recall seeing while I was a counselor at summer camp in the summer of 1991.  The camp took the kids to see this in the theater for some strange reason.

Trying to think back, I could only recall that I found the whole thing pretty boring and believe I even dozed off a bit in the middle of it.

For those reasons, I have avoided this film like the plague for 25 years.

Since Niall recommended it to me, I hoped that I would have more pleasant memories of the film this time around.

Thankfully, it was much better than I recalled but unfortunately still wasn’t very memorable.

I have always been a Bill Murray fan and he is able to really show his comic style here in a great way.

Yes, his character is annoying, but he does it in such an adorable way.

Richard Dreyfuss, on the other hand is atrocious here and any kind of chemistry between the two of them is completely absent the entire time.

For a comedy like this to work, the characters must work off one another and they just aren’t able to accomplish such a feat.

In addition, Dreyfuss’ character who is the lead should be somewhat likeable and there is very little to like about him throughout the entire movie.

This movie has a few funny scenes, but they unfortunately aren’t enough to save this and make it enjoyable enough.

This film is meant to be annoying and in taht aspect, they are able to accomplish their goal…but who wants to watch an annoying film?

Maybe only Bob himself…/

Bottom Line – Murray is quite funny in this film, but the chemistry between him and Dreyfuss is atrocious. Dreyfuss’ character is not very likeable and that puts things off even more since we assume that we should love (or even like) the main character. There are a few funny scenes, but overall the movie is a bit annoying (as it is meant to be) and that puts things off too much.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – According to interviews, both of the film’s lead stars, Bill Murray and Richard Dreyfuss, admit that they both did not get along during the movie’s filming. This has been said to have contributed to the film as the characters they play become antagonists. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Movies From the Hat IV #32 – Niall’s Pick – What About Bob? (1991)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1991 |

Let me Know what you think!!

