Movies From the Hat IV #35 – Marta’s Pick – Romper Stomper (1992)


This is my 2494th Review

Thanks to Marta of Ramblings of a Cinefile for this recommendation.


kinopoisk.ru

“You enjoy being cannon fodder for the system? ” – Hando

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A group of Neo-Nazi skinheads wreck havoc on new immigrants that begin moving into their neighborhood.

My Take on it – Some movies just aren’t for everyone and this movie just wasn’t for me.

I had such a hard time trying to get into this one.

This is supposedly Russel Crowe’s breakout role that got him to Hollywood, but despite it being a bit interesting seeing him as a violent Neo-Nazi, watching him in that role for 90 minutes is juts way too much.

The story was all over the place and I tried so hard to find some kind of character that I could like and none were likeable at all possibly because they are all really screwed up characters.

This wasn’t the worst film I watched for this series, but it came close….

Some people may like this, but I am not among them…

Bottom Line – Couldn’t really get into this one. The story was all over the place and it was extremely hard to decide if there is any reason to like any of the very screwed up characters. Yes. It’s a bit interesting to see Crowe as a neo-nazi skinhead but not interesting enough To want to watch him for 90 minutes like this.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Daniel Pollock, who plays Davey, committed suicide before the film’s release. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV #35 – Marta’s Pick – Romper Stomper (1992)

  1. I’ve always wondered about this one with it going on and off and on and off (and finally off) my To Watch list. I think it only caught my eye because of Russell Crowe but ultimately I just didn’t get enticed enough to watch what could only be a not-so-happy movie. Thanks for the heads up.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1992 |

Let me Know what you think!!

