Movies From the Hat IV #38 – Jane’s Pick – Mississippi Grind (2015)


This is my 2497th Review

Thanks to Jane of 500 Days of Film for this recommendation.

Here are her thoughts on the film.

mississippi-grind“#199: Relaxed and Squared. Shoulders that are suddenly relaxed and squared are saying, ‘I am confident.’ If someone goes from slumped shoulders to squared-relaxed shoulders I would be concerned as they are likely to be strong.” ” – Joe Navarro

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Two gamblers in the US South team up to try and make even more money together.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I have been contemplating seeing for a while, but just never got around to it.

When Jane recommended it, I was pretty happy that I could finally see it.

Unfortunately, my expectations for it must have been too high because I found it to move to slow and wasn’t as interesting as it could have been.

The characters were developed enough, but neither is likeable enough and I didn’t know whether I wanted to root for one, or teh other or even both of them to succeed.

Each of these men have their flaws and they actually seem like a mismatched pair made in heaven because they easily complement each other when thinking about people caught in the web of the gambling world.

Both Ryan Reynolds and Ben Mendelsohn are usually so much better than they were here which is a shame because the potential here was much greater than what they were able to achieve IMHO.

Bottom Line – Expected this to be much better and more entertaining.  Moved along way too slow for me and I couldn’t really find any reason to like the characters enough. They each have their flaws and despite seeming like a mismatched pair, they are able to complement one another. Reynolds and Mendelsohn are both usually much better than this.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The scene where Curtis and Gerry are driving to Memphis and Gerry asks Curtis his age Curtis says he’s 39 but Gerry doesn’t believe him and tells him he’s 35. Curtis admits to lying and says “I am 35.” But in real life (Ryan Reynolds) playing the character of Curtis is in fact 39. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV #38 – Jane’s Pick – Mississippi Grind (2015)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

Let me Know what you think!!

