Movies From the Hat IV #40 – Alex’s Pick – Drive (2011)


This is my 2499th Review

Thanks to Alex of Alex Raphael for this recommendation.

drive“You know, we’re here celebrating but it’s a shameful thing… what I did. And I have a lot of making up to do to everyone. But second chances are rare. Right? And that’s worth celebrating.” – Standard

Number of Times Seen – 2 (19 Nov 2011 and 11 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A movie stunt driver who moonlights as a getaway driver for robberies gets himself into a bind when he begins a friendship with his neighbor and her young son.

My Take on it – This is another movie that I liked better this time around than I did the first time I saw it 5 years ago.

I have always known that Ryan Gosling is a great actor ever since I saw him in The Believer (2001) and once again he gives an amazing performance in this film.

The idea that a character thrives when he is in his lonesome is not easy to convey so easily and Gosling does it seemingly with ease.

Once the character attaches emotions to his life, everything begins to spin beyond his control.

The story here plays out quite well and it’s interesting to watch the domino effect of it all as it slowly unravels around the characters despite them trying to do good things.

The only complaint that I have about this film was the cast of Albert Brooks as a menacing crime boss.

I have always loves Brooks’ work, but he is mostly a comedian and just doesn’t work in this kind of character.

I actually had to keep myself from laughing whenever he did something devious because it just didn’t seem right.

Bottom Line – Gosling is great here and its easy to see his talent shine through in this role. His character thrives when he keeps himself detached from the world but once emotions come into play he looses his touch. The story works well and it’s quite interesting to watch the domino effect in action. My one complaint here is the fact that as much as I love Albert Brooks, I can never properly imagine him as a menacing crime boss. I found his performance quite laughable from that perspective. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The Driver and Irene actually say very little to each other, primarily because Ryan Gosling and Carey Mulligan felt that their scenes should be more focused on the mood and refused to say many of the scripted lines. Mulligan summarized making the film as “staring longingly at Ryan Gosling for hours each day.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV #40 – Alex’s Pick – Drive (2011)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2011 |

  3. Pingback: Movies From the Hat V #26 – Mutant’s Pick – The Neon Demon (2016) |

Let me Know what you think!!

