Crossing Delancey (1988)


crossing-delancey“Ya look, ya meet, you try, you see. Sometimes it fits, sometimes it doesn’t. ” – Hannah Mandelbaum

Number of Times Seen – Between 3-5 Times (cable in the 80’s and 90’s and 15 Sep 2016)

Brief Synopsis – After meeting a very nice pickle vendor via a Jewish Matchmaker that her grandmother contacted an aspiring book editor in New York must try and decide what she really wants in life.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I saw a few times on cable and was always intrigued about mainly because of the personal connections that I had to it.

My stepfather was himself a pickleman from The Lower East Side and many of the locations depicted in the film , we had at some point passed through or visited when we went to visit relatives living in the area.

Watching thsi movie with him was fun because he knew the area so well that he was able to point out where each scenes was filmed.

The story is a typical Hollywood love triangle romance but is done in such a charming way that it’s easy to fall in love with the way it was shot.

I loved how they kept showing the differences between the Upper West Side lifestyle and the Lower East Side lifestyle which is basically traditional versus intellectual.

The cast is great here and I think that Amy Irving and Peter Reigart have nice chemistry together and were perfectly paired up here.

I believe that I enjoy this film a bit more than most based on my personal connections, but isn’t that what we all actually seek in movies?

Some way to bring the story closer to us and the lives we live.

Bottom Line – Charming romance movie that predominantly features the differences between the inhabitants of the Lower East Side of Manhattan and the Upper West Side.  The cast works well together and I really liked the chemistry between Irving and Reigart. My personal connections make me enjoy this more than most probably do, but since we all seek some kind of connection or ‘common ground’ between ourselves and a movie or character, this suits it very well for me. Recommended!
MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Reizl Bozyk’s only English-language film. She was a leading actress in Yiddish theater for many years. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “Crossing Delancey (1988)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1988 |

Let me Know what you think!!

