The Toptober Tens #4 – Documentary Films


toptoberFor this months fourth Toptober Tens, Here are my Top Ten Favorite Documentary films.

This was not an easy list to make because of the 110 documentary’s that I’ve watched since I started this site, 77 of them have been given a very high rating by me.

I have therefore included 5 honorable mentions on this list.  On any given day, any of the 5 could’ve made it to the top ten, just today they were ranked slightly lower…. tomorrow that could easily change.

The truth is, I was never a fan of documentaries and I have slowly been taken in by this genre of movies because they atre some of the most moving and touching films I’ve ever seen.

My #1 on this list was my favorite new movie of 2015 and even chose it as my birthday movie last January because it spoke to me in such a personal way despite it being one of the most tearful movies ever made IMHO.

I have even been in touch with the director/writer since watching it and have watched all of his films that I could get my hands on, but as great as they all were, I never found one more moving or more emotional than my #1 pick here.

Later this month, I will even do a top ten of his films, so stay tuned.

Keep in mind, that these are all solely my opinion and part of what I would like to do is open conversation and dialogue between us all over the choices in these lists

Off we go….invisible

Honorable Mention – The Invisible War (2012)touching

Honorable Mention – Touching the Void (2004)drew

Honorable Mention – Drew: The Man Behind the Poster (2013)man-on-wire

Honorable Mention – Man on Wire (2007)and-the-oscar

Honorable Mention – And The Oscar Goes To (2013)shadow

10. In the Shadow of the Moon (2007)hunting

9. The Hunting Ground (2015)last-man

8. The Last Man on the Moon (2014)batkid

7. Batkid Begins (2015)life-itself

6. Life Itself (2014)empire

5. The Empire of Dreams (2004)blackfish

4. Blackfish (2013)one-day

3. One Day in September (1999)9-11

2. 9/11 (2002)dear-zachary

  1. Dear Zachary: A Letter To A Son About His Father (2008)
14 thoughts on “The Toptober Tens #4 – Documentary Films

  1. Pingback: The Toptober Tens – What is it??? |

  2. I’m really behind on seeing documentaries. In the Shadow of the Moon is the only one here I’ve watched, but it’s been a while. Plenty to add to my watchlist!
    I did see one recently from this year called Life, Animated; I highly recommend it and should be reviewing it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great, I really really love documentaries. The new Amanda Knox doco would needs a place on this list. I also really highly recommend the ‘Paradise Lost’ documentary film trilogy – they’re actually available on YouTube. You won’t regret it!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

