Batman: Assault on Arkham (2014)


batman_assault_on_arkham_cover“Anyone who throws boomerangs has some real issues letting go. ” – Harley Quinn

Number of Times Seen – 1 (6 Oct 2016)

Brief Synopsis – The government puts together a band of criminals and sends them on a mission to break into Arkham Asylum in Gotham City

My Take on it – This was my first exposure to the characters who form the group known as The Suicide Squad and I really liked the way this was done.

They did a great job introducing us to these characters while not diminishing who each of them really is and why they got to where they did.

I’m a huge fan of The Dirty Dozen (1967) and this in a way feels like a modernized and more high-tech version of it.

The dialogue is insanely clever and they did a great job of keeping some animosity between them to give every aspect of this film a bit more spice.

I’m a big fan of batman in general, but I was quite happy that eventhough, his name is in the title, he is more of a supporting character who is mostly in the background.

This gives us a stronger focus on the Suicide Squad team and their mission.

I happened to watch the recent Suicide Squad (2016) film a few days after watching this one and I felt that I had a greater understanding of it because of the background I received from this one, but I’ll get to that in a few days when I have my review for that film.

Great voice cast helps this film become even more interesting and as a fan of Neal McDonough, I was happy to see him as the voice of Deadshot.

Bottom Line – Great concept that works really well here.  Loved the dialogue and the way that the characters interact throughout. Was glad that despite his name being in the title, Batman was a minor character which let the story focus on the team of criminals. Nice voice cast helps out here too. Excellent introduction into the Suicide Squad. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When Harley goes through items in the Joker crate at Arkham, among the items she removes is the mask that the Joker wore in the opening scene of The Dark Knight (2008), and a Joker fish from Batman: The Animated Series (1992). (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Batman: Assault on Arkham (2014)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

