Me Before You (2016)


me-before-you“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.” – Will Traynor

Number of Times Seen – 1 (13 Oct 2016)

Brief Synopsis – After losing her waitressing job, a young woman accepts a job caring for a young victim of paralysis and as their bond of friendship begin to grow, they both must reevaluate what is important in life.

My Take on it – This is a film that I’ve been waiting to watch for quite some time because my wife was very interested in seeing it after having read the book.

This actually gave me quite a unique experience where my wife actually knew more about a film, its plot and of course ending before me; she was the one who needed to keep the secret of what would happen. 🙂

The theme in this film is quite and intense one and I’m very glad that they chose to offset things a bit with numerous humorous situations which help lighten the atmosphere a bit.

The characters are all likeable and they do a very good job of developing them despite the fact that the book does an even better job (so my wife tells me) 🙂

I did find it a bit strange watching Emilia Clarke as an extroverted young British woman after being so used to seeing her as a commanding Queen of Dragons for the last 7 years on some minor TV show. 🙂

The message and theme of this film is definitely one that one will continue to think about for a while after seeing this film.

It actually doesn’t matter what your stance is on the subject because it is such a great theme that demands discussion and continued dialogue from both sides of the issue.

Bottom Line – Very intense theme that is helped by bits of humor. Characters are all very likeable and we easily learn so much about them.  Was a bit strange watching Clarke here since I’m used to seeing her as a commanding queen instead of a extroverted young woman.  Message and theme gives so much to think about even days after watching and it doesn’t matter what your opinion is on the theme because it begs discussion.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – In the week following the release of the trailer for the film, the book went from #141 to #3 on USA TODAY’s Best-Selling Books List. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Me Before You (2016)

  1. One of my favourite films of the year even though i see two massive flaws.
    1, this story only happens because he is rich (hiring help, going on trips not the bigger theme)
    2. there is no way i can see Clarke as an average woman she is way to beautiful for this role (even though she is brilliant acting wise)

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

