Grace Kelly Blogathon – To Catch a Thief (1955)


This is the first of two posts that are part of the 2nd Annual Grace Kelly Blogathon being held over at The Wonderful World of Cinema by Virginie.

Tnx for letting me participate!


to_catch_a_thief“Why buy an old car if you can get a new one cheaper? It will run better and last longer. ” – Danielle

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A retired cat burglar living in France tries to catch a copycat thief in order to clear his name when the police think that he has returned to a life of crime.

My Take on it – In my continuing quest to finally see more and more films made by Hitchcock, I chose to watch this one for this wonderful Grace Kelly blogathon.

Having never seen this film, I was expecting something more and was actually quite disappointed that this wasn’t more thrilling to watch.

This is perhaps one of my least favorite mainstream Hitchcock films and I think part of that has to do with the plot and the setting.

The characters all seem so out of place in France and it might have worked much better had they been in a different location.

Cray Grant is good here in the lead despite the fact that he seems (and is) so much older than his two female costars.

Both Grace Kelly and Brigitte Auber are fun to watch here in their respective roles, but they both lack enough chemistry with Grant as one would expect.

This feels a bit too tame and doesn’t work as well as it probably could have.

As with most Hitchcock films, the innuendo works extremely well because he was so adept at trying to dodge the censors. 🙂

Bottom Line – I think this is one of Hitchcock’s weaker films perhaps due to the French setting.  Grant is good here but despite being one of Hitchcock’s favorite players feels too old for the part.  Kelly and Auber both do a nice job as the women after Grants heart but there is a bit of chemistry missing between the woman and the lead.  The story feels a bit too tame and isn’t as thrilling as I would have hoped.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Cary Grant had announced his retirement from acting in February 1953, stating that since the rise of Method actors like Marlon Brando, most people were no longer interested in seeing him. He was also angry at the way Charles Chaplin had been treated by the HUAAC. He was lured out of his retirement to make this film, and thereafter, continued acting for a further 11 years. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Grace Kelly Blogathon – To Catch a Thief (1955)

  1. Pingback: The 2nd Wonderful Grace Kelly Blogathon Is Here! | The Wonderful World of Cinema

  2. Interesting article. Actually, I love this film! Maybe not Hitchcock’s best, but I think it’s visually stunning, precisely because of the French Riviera’s landscape and the beautiful gowns designed by Edith Head. I’ve almost seen all Hitchcock’s films now and I remember this is the second one I saw and it will always have a special place in my heart. 🙂
    Thanks for taking part to the blogathon!

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

