5 Centimeters Per Second (2007)


5-cent“It must really be a lonelier journey than anyone could imagine. Cutting through absolute darkness, encountering nothing but the occasional hydrogen atom. Flying blindly into the abyss, believing therein lie the answers to the mysteries of the universe. ” – Takaki

Number of Times Seen – 1 (9 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Three segments in the life of a young man show how his first love affects hos entire life and the decisions he makes.

My Take on it – I had never heard of this film until I saw a tweet about it from The Mad Movie Man last week and just his one line tweet intrigued me to seek out a version of this film.

All he had to do was tweet “Its story is short, but 5 Centimeters Per Second is still easily one of the most beautiful films ever.” and he hooked me.

I’ve never been shy about the fact that I’ve never really been a fan of anime, but decided to still give this one a shot.

The storyline of each segment seems to be very different, but when looking at the film as a whole it’s quite easy to notice the recurring theme between them all about how a first love can affect one’s life the whole way through no matter how old you get.

The animation here was really fascinating to watch because so many times, I would forget I was watching animation because many of the visuals seem to look quite real.

I liked the way that the story unfolds because it feels more realistic the way it all plays out and it’s easy to bellive that something like this has, can and probably will occur.

Bottom Line – Very interesting storyline because it shows three stories that are seemingly very different, but all follow the same theme of how love can affect our lives no matter the age.  The animation is wondrous because it sometimes looks quite real and you can easily forget that you are watching an animated film. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The title 5 Centimeters Per Second comes from the speed at which cherry blossoms petals fall, petals being a metaphorical representation of humans, reminiscent of the slowness of life and how people often start together but slowly drift into their separate ways  (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “5 Centimeters Per Second (2007)

  1. I’m kind of surprised that you watched and liked this one. I do enjoy anime, but I found everything after the first story to be extremely boring and depressing. This is actually one of my Bottom-Dwellers! I will admit the animation is awesome, so if you liked this, I’d recommend the director’s other films too, especially Children Who Chase Lost Voices.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2007 |

Let me Know what you think!!

