The Extraordinary Voyages of Jules Verne (1995)


jules-verne“I have sometimes heard reports that my books excite young boys to leave their homes for adventurous travel.  This, I am sure has never been the case but if boys should be brought to launch out on some enterprises, let them take example from the heroes of my extraordinary voyages.” – Jules Verne

Number of Times Seen – 1 (30 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A look at the life and works of one of the first science fiction writers, Jules Verne, whose stories still inspire us so many years later.

My Take on it – I have always enjoyed Verne’s stories, but until I watched this, I was unaware of how influential his life’s work has been on advanced in technology over the century and a half since his writings.

His family life is also chronicled and I found it really interesting to see that even a great grandson of his was interviewed about his life.

I was amazed at how prophetic some of his writings became especially when dealing with space travel.

The fact that without his writings, there might not be the genre of Science fiction is astounding to think about.

Books, TV shows, comics and especially movies have been inspired by and have used so many of his ideas over more than a century to advance science and also advance our imagination.

Bottom Line – Very interesting documentary because it adds so much information to what is known about Verne. It chronicles his life but also shows how much of his ideas were in some ways prophetic based on how technology has advanced over the 150 years since he wrote his stories. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – His collaboration with the publisher Pierre-Jules Hetzel led to the creation of the Voyages extraordinaires, a widely popular series of scrupulously researched adventure novels including Journey to the Center of the Earth (1864), Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (1870), and Around the World in Eighty Days (1873). (From Wikipedia)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “The Extraordinary Voyages of Jules Verne (1995)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1995 |

Let me Know what you think!!

