89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #2- Top Hat (1935)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my second review of the chosen 89 Films…


top-hat“All is fair in love and war, and this is revolution! ” – Jerry

Number of Times Seen – 1 (1 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A talented dancer arrives in England and based on a mistaken identity meets a beautiful woman who thinks he’s someone else.

My Take on it – I’ve been meaning to watch this film for so many years and just never got around to it.

Being a huge fan of The Green Mile (1999), I am quite familiar with the main dance theme and song from this film called “Cheek to Cheek” and based on its connection to that movie, the song has always had such an emotional connotation for me instead of the care free one that it should have.

Here’s the clip:

After having seen thousands upon thousands of films in my lifetime (literally), I actually can’t believe that I never had a chance to see a film featuring Fred & Ginger.

I’ve seen clips of scenes here and there and heard stories of their talent, but never saw it with my own eyes.

The choreography for the song and dance numbers are amazingly shot and it’s really fun watching them move around the room so gracefully over and over.

The story and plot are pretty standard fair for this kind of film that deals with mistaken identity.

I’m actually quite surprised tho that this film was actually nominated for Best Picture that year because it really doesn’t give any kind of powerful punch despite it still being fun to watch.

Bottom Line – Fun screwball comedy of the 30’s that includes some great song and dance scenes. The connection with The Green Mile (1999) has always made me think of the main song here from an emotional perspective instead of the fun loving one it elicits here.  Fred and Ginger are great together and I actually can’t believe that this was the first time I actually saw one of their movies as opposed to just seeing a short clip or hearing about their partnership.  Amazing choreography and the song and dance numbers are very fun to watch. The story here is pretty standard when dealing with a mistaken identity, but it isn’t at all meant to be a powerful one which makes me question how and why it got a nomination for Best Picture at the Oscars that year.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The finale of “Top Hat, White Tie and Tails” production number with Fred Astaire miming his cane as a weapon “attacking” his supporting dancers, 13 canes were prepared for it. During shooting, Astaire, ever the unforgiving perfectionist, was continually breaking his canes in frustration at his mistakes, which concerned the crew that he was running out of them. As it turns out, the shooting of the scene was finished with the very last cane. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #2- Top Hat (1935)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1935 |

Let me Know what you think!!

