89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #4 – Il Postino (1994)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my fourth review of the 89 chosen Films…

il-postino“Poetry doesn’t belong to those who write it; it belongs to those who need it. ” – Mario

Number of Times Seen – 1 (4 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A simple postman learns lessons about life and love when he befriends an exiled poet living on  small Italian island.

My Take on it – When doing my research for this series, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I had to travel back 21 years of Oscar before I found a nominated film that I had yet to see.

The reason is actually quite simple and it has to mainly do with the fact that I’m not a fan of foreign language films and as much as the premise of this love story intrigued me, I shyed away from it for decades.

The truth is that this is realky a lovely story about a simple man, living a simple life in a simple town who wishes for his life to remain that way.

His meeting and eventual friendship with the exiled poet changes all that because he then begins to learn more about the world outside of his small community and it intrigues him.

Their conversations cover a very wide variety of topics including religion, politics, poetry, history, friendship and love.

The musical score of this film is also quite simple yet elegant and helps the flow of the film so much.

The star tho is Massimo Troisi who has the role of a lifetime (literally) here. He postponed his own health issues to make this film and died the day after it was finished. (see Trivia below)

I can understand how people could think that this film was among the best of 1995, but the fact that its in Italian and not English just didn’t allow me to connect fully despite really wanting to.  This is an issue that I’ve always had with foreign language films and I can’t really explain why it is like this for me.

I can only think of a handful of non-English Language films that I can say I w s able to fully enjoy.

Bottom Line – Such a simple yet powerful movie because it tells such a beautiful story about innocent souls living in a complex world filled with religion, politics, poetry, love and friendship. The musical score is so catchy and gives the film a feeling of realism and simpleness. Troisi is superb in the role of a lifetime (literally) and helps us love his character and the story so much.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Writer/co-director/star Massimo Troisi postponed heart surgery so he could complete the film. The day after filming was complete, he suffered a fatal heart attack. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #4 – Il Postino (1994)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1995 |

  2. Pingback: 89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #37 – Z (1969) |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1994 |

Let me Know what you think!!

