89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #11 – Sons and Lovers (1960)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 11th review of the 89 chosen Films…


sal“That’s how women are with me. They want me like mad but they don’t want to belong to me.” – Paul

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A young man must find a way to break free of his connection to his mother in order to have a meaningful relationship with someone else.

My Take on it – This is a film that I was actually interested in seeing solely because I’ve always been a fan of Dean Stockwell, who was part of one of my favorite TV shows, Quantum Leap.

The story here is actually very slow moving and it’s easy to see that much of the story comes from a psychological perspective than a normal narrative.

The story this film was based on was written by DH Lawrence and is a look at a form of Oedipal complex with a young man being dominated by thoughts of pleasing his mother instead of himself or his lovers.

Unfortunately, this kind of subject is more easily explained and explored in written form than in visual form and it makes thing feel less interesting than it really should be.

I think that they should have tried to utilize narration in order to help things along here.

Besides Stockwell’s fine performance, this film features a great fiery performance by Trevor Howard as the patriarch of the family.

Bottom Line – Very slow moving drama that is more of a psychological study than an interesting story. The acting is great with Howard and Stockwell both giving great performances.  Film loses some of its impact due to lack of narration that would probably help explain more what is actually happening in the heads of the characters.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – At 20 minutes and 14 seconds, Trevor Howard’s performance in this movie is the shortest to ever be nominated for an Academy Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #11 – Sons and Lovers (1960)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1960 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1960 |

Let me Know what you think!!

