The Wicker Man (1973)


wicker-man“Do sit down, Sergeant. Shocks are so much better absorbed with the knees bent” – Lord Summerisle

Number of Times Seen – 1 (4 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A policeman travels to a far away Scottish village in order to investigate the disappearance of a young girl.

My Take on it – Last month, the theme for my Genre Grandeur series was Scottish films and one of the submitted reviews was by Emma of Emma K Wall who reviewed this film.

Despite knowing my distaste for horror films, she adamantly claimed that I might actually like this film because it’s more of a mystery than horror.  I wasn’t sure whether to believe her or not but decided to give it a shot anyway.

Sorry Ems, but my gut was right and I actually hated this film. 😦

The mystery just wasn’t interesting.

I didn’t care about any of the characters and wanted it just to end as soon as possible.

Besides that, things just kept getting weirder and weirder as things went along.

If I didn’t have a policy not to turn a film off in the middle because it’s bad, this one woulda been turned off pretty early.

It’s possible that people who enjoy this genre of horror will enjoy this much more than I did, but this just wasn’t my taste at all.

Edward Woodward and Christopher Lee were both good here,  because we get to learn enough about their characters and motivations, but the fact that everything around them was absurdly crazy just completely turned me off.

Bottom Line – Terrible film.  I didn’t care about any of the characters and just found things to get crazier and crazier as it went along.  Perhaps fans of the horror genre will enjoy this more than I did.  Woodward and Lee both play interesting characters, but the overall theme just didn’t work for me at all.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – This film was intended as a vehicle for Christopher Lee. Lee himself has said that he considers this to be one of his greatest ever roles. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “The Wicker Man (1973)

  1. Pingback: The Wicker Man (2006) |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1973 |

Let me Know what you think!!

