89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #16 – A Room With A View (1985)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 16th review of the 89 chosen Films…


rwav

“I don’t care what I see outside. My vision is within! Here is where the birds sing! Here is where the sky is blue!” – Mr. Emerson

Number of Times Seen – 1 (14 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Around the turn of the 19th Century, a young British girl travels with her cousin to Italy where she meets and falls in love with a young man with whom her family doesn’t take favor in.

My Take on it – This is yet another film that I have avoided for far too long just based on what I knew about the premise.

Victorian romances are usually not among the kind of films I usually enjoy and as much as I can appreciate what they tried to do here, I found the storytelling aspect here to be lackluster at best.

The plot moved along quite slowly and that deliberate pace actually turned me off a bit.

The performances here are amazing and there are so many well known British actors in prominant roles here that it’s hard not to like their characters.

The three standout in my opinion are Judi Dench, Denhold Elliott and Danial Day-Lewis (who is almost unrecognizable here).

The production is done exceptionally well too and it looks and feels like one would expect from the Victorian age.

I can definitely understand how this film could get nominated for 8 Oscars and take home 3 (writing, art direction and costumes).

Perhaps, this film, like Shakespeare (for me) is just hard for me to comprehend or perhaps it’s easier to enjoy this film if you are already familiar with the source material.

Bottom Line – Moved too slowly for me and I had trouble with the way the story is being told despite it being an interesting story.  The performances and production itself are excellent tho and I can understand how this film could get 8 Oscar nominations (including 3 wins for writing, art direction and costumes).  The cast is great with so many well-known British actors taking part in this film.  Perhaps it’s an easier film to enjoy if you have read the book it was based on.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – My Beautiful Laundrette (1985) and A Room with a View (1985) both opened in New York on the same day, March 7, 1986. Both movies featured Daniel Day-Lewis in prominent and very different roles: in A Room with a View, he played a repressed, snobbish Edwardian upperclassman, while in Laundrette, he played a lower-class gay ex-skinhead in love with an ambitious Pakistani businessman in Thatcher’s London. When American critics saw Day-Lewis, who was then virtually unknown in the US, in two such different roles on the same day, many (including Roger Ebert of The Chicago Sun-Times and Vincent Canby of The New York Times) raved about the talent it must have taken him to play such vastly different characters. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

13 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #16 – A Room With A View (1985)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1986 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

Let me Know what you think!!

