89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #17 – Places in the Heart (1984)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 17th review of the 89 chosen Films…


pith

“I don’t care what it takes. I don’t care if it kills me. I don’t care if it kills you. I’m not going to give up. And if the two of you do, you can go straight to hell. ” – Edna

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A young widow during the Depression must do all she can to keep her family together and save their farm from being taken by the bank.

My Take on it – This is the film that gave us all the famous quote from Sally Field upon winning her Second Best Actress Oscar about how everyone really likes her.

Her performance here is exceptional and she is able to take a character and transform her so much in such a short period of time.

The rest of the cast is also great, but without her lead, things just wouldn’t be the same.

Loved how this film’s message is such an uplifting one about how one can do so much wen the need for survival comes about and perseverance in the face of obstacles that seem almost impossible to overcome.

The characters are so diverse, but they do a great job of connecting with one another when they all realize how much they need each other to reach a common goal.

Bottom Line – Field gives an amazingly strong performance here and keeps this film together.  Her Oscar for Best Actress here was very well deserved. The rest of the cast helps, but would be lost without the role played by Field.  Uplifting message about survival and perseverance in difficult times.  The characters are all quite diverse but learn to work together when they find a common goal.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Sally Field’s characters first name “Edna” is only said once in the entire film. During the majority of the film, she is referred to as “Mrs. Spalding”. Other than that, she is referred to as “Sis” or “ma’am”. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #17 – Places in the Heart (1984)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1984 |

  2. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

Let me Know what you think!!

