89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #18 – Here Comes Mr. Jordan (1941)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 18th review of the 89 chosen Films…


poster-here-comes-mr-jordan_10

“I don’t want anybody’s body. I want my body! ” – Joe Pendleton

Number of Times Seen – 1 (17 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A boxer is accidentally sent to Heaven before his time and is sent back to Earth as a millionaire who’s wife is trying to murder him.

My Take on it – This is yet another Best Picture Nominee that I had never heard of and was very pleasantly surprised to see how this was done so well.

Being a fan of time travel films and TV shows and especially Quantum Leap, I immediately could easily identify with the theme of “leaping” into different bodies and despite this film being made over 70 years ago, it felt so perfectly done.

Loved the tone of the film because it was serious, yet was constantly peppered with humor all along which keeps things lighter.

The characters that they introduce us to are all great to watch and I liked the way they were all able to evolve a bit over the course of the film.

Excellent cast led by Robert Montgomery, James Gleason and Claude Rains who is superb as Mr. Jordan himself.

Loved the way this film has action, sports, romance, fantasy, murder and even a bit of humor in it.

Definitely a diamond in the rough of a film that should get much more exposure than it does.

Bottom Line – Great film that was done way before its time.  The ideas of taking over someone else’s body and knowing “heavenly” secrets works extremely well here.  Not at all a film that I would have expected to have been made in the 40’s, yet feels like it was done perfectly.  Great characters that come to life for us.  Superb cast. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – James Gleason was nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor in the role of Max Corkle. This is the first time in Academy Awards history for a person to be nominated for a supporting Oscar for a role for which a different person would later also be nominated for a supporting Oscar: Jack Warden was nominated for Best Supporting Actor as Max Corkle in Heaven Can Wait (1978). (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #18 – Here Comes Mr. Jordan (1941)

  1. Pingback: Heaven Can Wait (1978) |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1941 |

Let me Know what you think!!

