89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #19 – Pygmalion (1938)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 19th review of the 89 chosen Films…

pygmalion

“If you can’t appreciate what you’ve got, you’d better get what you can appreciate. ” – Prof. Henry Higgins

Number of Times Seen – 1 (18 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A linguistics professor makes a bet that he can turn a poor flower girl into a princess without just a few weeks.

My Take on it – This story is one that I’ve been familiar with for as long as I can recall because the movie My Fair Lady (1964) is a musical adaptation of this play by George Bernard Shaw.

Just like when I recently watched the dramatic version of Les Miserables (1935), I was captivated by the way the story flows so well even without musical accompaniment. 

The dialogue is superb and I recognized many quotes that appear later in the musical version; the problem was that I half expected each character to burst out into song every so often.

Leslie Howard and Wendy Hiller have amazing chemistry as Higgens and Eliza which makes this even more enjoyable

Bottom Line – Great adaptation of the Shaw play. The characters are fun to watch (despite expecting them to constantly break out in song.) Howard and Hiller have such great chemistry together which makes this work even better.  Amazing dialogue. Recommended! 

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The scene in which Eliza accidentally swallows a marble whilst having an elocution lesson does not appear in the original play. During rehearsals for this scene a pained expression came over Wendy Hiller’s face; when she spat out the marbles she had in her mouth she said: “Leslie, I’ve swallowed one!” to which Leslie Howard replied “Never mind there are plenty more”. This caused such amusement among the watching crew that it was added to the film. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #19 – Pygmalion (1938)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1938 |

Let me Know what you think!!

