Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1995


dtgirbp-1995Here are the five nominees: (Winner in Bold)

Apollo 13
Babe
Braveheart
Il Postino
Sense and Sensibility

Biggest Snub:

Toy Story

My Overall Thoughts:

This is another year where the Academy members really fumbled the ball.

Three of the five films are truly deserving of being considered for the top spot with the other two being very good films, but feeling in some ways like placeholders since neither had much of a chance of winning BP.

The three deserving films are all in different genres are are each the best of the year in their own fields; romance, action and adventure, but when needing to compare the three., one clearly sticks out as the best and most memorable film.

My Rankings:

Movies

  • 5. – Babe – Fun simple film that is slightly lovable, but not really worthy of winning the BP award.  Special effects are done quite well and that is an award it was very rightfully deserving of winning.
  • 4. – Il Postino – Interesting love story that works on numerous levels.  Troisi is superb here and it’s unfortunate that this was his final film
  • 3. – Braveheart – Gibson does a wonderful job with this film.  Great action scenes, great story with a very poignant message.  As good as it is tho, not the best of the year.
  • 2. – Sense and Sensibility -Amazing adaptation of Austin’s novel. Cast is superb and it’s such a great love story done perfectly.
  • 1. – Apollo 13 – Excellent film that tells a true tale of heroism, suspense filled with a patriotic flair. Howard does a wonderful job with this story.  The cast is amazing.  Film resonates so well even after 21 years.

Do I agree with the Oscar winner? – Not really. Once again, the Academy members fumbled the ball here. Braveheart is a fun and epic film directed expertly by Gibson, but Apollo 13 is a much better film that rings more true as a patriotic film.

Let me know what you think about these films and my rankings!

5 thoughts on “Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1995

  1. I agree. But I love Babe, Apollo 13 and Toy Story …. I believe one of them deserved a BP award. I think Oscar judges don’t consider the impact great movies has on those who have seen them. Braveheart is just one of those epic movies that Hollywood spews out ( just my humble opinion ). I also think judging of movies for Oscar awards should be completely overhauled.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think Babe is definitely worthy. I think it’s good when more simple films get nominated and not just epics. In my opinion Babe is one of the best family films ever made. I would have gone with Braveheart though. Apollo 13 is good but feels a bit more of a procedural than Braveheart

    Like

  3. Don’t get me started on Braveheart. I have a love-hate relationship with that movie, which I wrote about on my own blog: https://seanmunger.com/2013/09/09/to-mel-and-back-my-complicated-relationship-with-the-movie-braveheart/

    I think in the final analysis it did not deserve Best Picture. I could see either Apollo 13 or Babe deserving of it. Given the technical challenges of making Apollo 13 (filming in zero-G, for instance), it probably should have gotten the award.

    Like

  4. Great article. Some interesting comments here too. I think the voting Academy of actors, writers, directors, etc. picked the right movie. I really enjoyed Braveheart on several levels, with its message resonating. That said, Apollo 13 was fantastic.

    Like

  5. I too think the Academy totally missed the mark, not because I dislike Braveheart (I do love Babe and Apollo 13 too), but because the Best Picture of the year should have been Mr. Holland’s Opus. I will say that to my dying day.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

