89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #24 – The Turning Point (1977)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 24th review of the 89 chosen Films…


tp

“That jealousy – it’s poison.” – DeeDee

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A former ballet dancer reflects on the choices she made in life after her daughter chooses to follow in her footsteps.

My Take on it – This is a film that I knew nothing about before seeing it besides the fact that it holds the (tied) record for most Oscar nominations without a single award. (see trivia below)

I actually enjoyed it much more than I had expected to because it relates to ballet (which surprisingly, I’m not much of a fan of).

Loved the way that this film focuses on decisions we make in life as to which path to follow and how they can affect us years down the line.

Both Anne Bancroft and Shirley MacLaine are great here because their performances allow us to see how two similiar character’s lives can end up so distinctly different based solely on a decision they made decades earlier; family vs. career.

Loved the dual meaning of the film’s title. 🙂

Bottom Line – Interesting film that looks at how people reflect on choices they made in life. I probably would have enjoyed this even more if I was a fan of ballet (which I’m surprisingly not). Bancroft and MacLaine are both great here because we easily get to see how different the paths of two similar lives can take solely depending on each decision. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – First of two Academy Award Best Picture nominees to receive 11 nominations without winning any Oscars. This film jointly holds the record with The Color Purple (1985) for the film with most Oscar nominations without a single win. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #24 – The Turning Point (1977)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1977 |

  2. Pingback: 89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #33 – Becket (1964) |

  3. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1977 |

Let me Know what you think!!

