89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #29 – Bound For Glory (1976)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 29th review of the 89 chosen Films…


bound_for_glory_poster

“This land is your land/This land is my land/From California to the New York Island/From the Redwood forests to the Gulf Stream waters/This land was made for you and me ” – Woody Guthrie

Number of Times Seen – 1 (25 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Biopic of the most influential years of folksinger Woody Guthrie’s life when he learned so much about what America is really about.

My Take on it – This is a film that I have avoided for quite some time because I presumed that it would be long and boring and of absolutely no interest what-so-ever.

Boy was I wrong!!; I really really enjoyed this film.

First of all, we are immersed so well into what it would probably have felt like to live in Depression-ERA America, the sights, sounds, dustiness and feel of it all seems so genuine.

Th music is superbly used to add to that tone and is perfectly merged into the story.

I was actually quite shocked as to how many of Guthrie’s songs I knew and was familiar with.

David Carradine and Ronny Cox are both excellent here and I loved the way we were immersed in their characters lives on the road.

Bottom Line – So much more entertaining than I had expected. Both Carradine and Cox are amazing here. The tone is perfectly set for us and we can see what it must have been like living during Depression-era America.  The music is superbly melded into the story and I was surprised at how many of Guthrie’s tunes I was actually familiar with. Highly Recommended

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The pivotal Steadicam sequence that first captivated industry insiders involved David Carradine’s amble through a migrant camp. The Steadicam operator, Garrett Brown, descends into the scene on a Chapman crane and follows Woody Guthrie (Carradine) as he gets off a pickup truck and walks past some 900 extras. The sequence, which looks quite simple on film, posed a challenge to operator and crew in that, just as Brown stepped off the crane platform laden with his weighty armature, grips had to simultaneously counterbalance the crane arm to prevent it from becoming a human catapult. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #29 – Bound For Glory (1976)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1976 |

  3. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1976 |

Let me Know what you think!!

