Genre Guesstimation – Automata (2014)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Becky of Film Music Central We will be reviewing our favorite Cyberpunk Movies.

According to Wikipedia

Cyberpunk is a subgenre of science fiction in a future setting that tends to focus on society as “high tech low life” featuring advanced technological and scientific achievements, such as information technology and cybernetics, juxtaposed with a degree of breakdown or radical change in the social order.

Great choice Becky!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Cyberpunk Movies…

automata“Jacq, dying is a part of the human natural cycle. Your life is just a span in time. ” – Blue Robot

Number of Times Seen – 1 (21 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – An insurance investigator for a robotics company in the near future must try and figure out how it seems as if some robots are acting sentient.

My Take on it – I decided that in order to make my guest choices of the Genre for the Genre Grandeur series more personal (and expand my own personal horizons of these genres), I will take a recommendation from my guest for a film to watch for this Genre Guesstimation series.

This film was Becky’s choice for me to watch.

I heard about this movie a few years back, but really didn’t feel that it would be the kind fo film I’d like, so I basically avoided it.

Since Becky chose it, I decided to finally give it a shot.

This film is actually quite fun to watch because the visuals are done quite well.

It takes the generic theme of AI and tries to move it one step forward, but it basically doesn’t get much further than most films of the genre.

The journey we are taken on here is interesting and innovative, but it loses its way along the way and eventually just ends up in the same place most films of this genre do.

The choice of Antonio Bandaras as the lead was a great one and he is interesting to watch as we are able to get a clear sense of what he wants and who he essential is.

Bottom Line – Fun film that takes the generic theme of AI and tries to give a new take on it. Unfortunately, it doesn’t manage to really bring us anything new to the theme.  The journey begins well, but eventually just ends up right where we always end up with this theme.  Bandaras is actually quite interesting here as the main character and we get a clear sense and who he is and what he wants. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The movie uses two different visual effects techniques: while the city’s locations are CGI, all the robots were created using animatronics and manipulated via remote control. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Interesting take on a topic that has been tried over and over, but not perfect.

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Automata (2014)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur December Finale – The Matrix (1999) – Film Music Central |

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

