The BFG (2016)


the-bfg-2016“Why are you giving me a dream?” – Sophie

Number of Times Seen – 1 (25 Dec 2016)

Brief Synopsis – An orphan girl is taken to a far away land by a giant who refuses to eat her despite living among other flesh eating giants.

My Take on it – When I heard that this film was being made by Steven Spielberg, I was quite excited.

This is the guy who was able to bring us one of the best and most magical children’s movie ever ET: The Extra-Terrestrial (1982), so the potential was definitely there.

Once the movie came out, it was clear to everyone that this film was no ET.

I’ve personally never seen the animated film from 1989 or read this book, but was still a bit curious to see what this was all about.

This film is actually amazing to watch from a technical perspective because they are able to make the people and giants appear to interact despite the size differences.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t really that taken in by the story aspects here and I found it to feel too simple and only somewhat interesting.

There are some fun hi-jinx in this film, but they are totally geared towards children and adults might not really connect with them that much.

All that being said, I can definitely understand how this film wasn’t overly loved and will not be considered among Spielberg’s greatest achievements.

Bottom Line – From a technical perspective this film is amazingly done unfortunately, the story isnt good enough to match that. Has some fun hi-jinx but is much more for kids than for adults in general. I can understand how this film got a lackluster reception when it came out.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – John Williams returned to score the film. He had not worked together on Steven Spielberg’s previous movie Bridge of Spies (2015). Only two other times in forty-two years have the pair not worked together on a cinema movie. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “The BFG (2016)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

