89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #35 – The Emigrants (1971)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 35th review of the 89 chosen Films…

emigrants

“There are two kinds of people in America. First, those who have lived here long and become rich. And then there’s those who are newly arrived and haven’t yet become rich. ” – Robert

Number of Times Seen – 1 (3 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Epic story of a family during the 1800’s who struggling in Sweden decide to immigrate to America.

My Take on it – I had much trepidation watching this film because as many of you know, I’m not the biggest fan of non-English language films and this was a daunting 3 hours plus.

Also, my recent attempt to watch a Swedish film (Cries & Whispers (1972)) once again reminded me that I prefer films with a concrete story instead of metaphors.

This film has amazing camera work and some of the landscape shots are quite breathtaking.

Unfortunately,  that’s the only nice thing I really have to say about this film.

It was long, boring and not much really happens along the way.

This is the only film to have been nominated for an Oscar two years in a row. The first year as Best Foreign film and then the following year as Best Picture.

I wouldn’t really classify this film as best anything but apparently the voters know more about the look and feel of films than I do.

Guess I just missed the point of this whole film from a existential perspective.

All this being said, it was a bit interesting to see the perspective of the difficulties of immigration to the US from a foreign viewpoint.

Bottom Line – Amazing cinematography. Complete borefest. Not sure how this was nominated for BP because the story is so slow and not much actually happens in a film that’s longer than 3 hours. Still, nice to see the perspective of foreigners on the hardship of immigration to America.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When filming the scene towards the end, where Karl Oskar walks off to find a better place for his settlement, director Jan Troell forgot to yell, “Cut.” Max von Sydow just kept walking and walking, waiting for a “cut”, and nobody realized until they took lunch. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

8 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #35 – The Emigrants (1971)

  1. Pingback: 89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #37 – Z (1969) |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1972 |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – January 2017 |

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1971 |

  5. Pingback: Movies From the Hat V #26 – Mutant’s Pick – The Neon Demon (2016) |

  6. Pingback: Deliverance (1972) |

Let me Know what you think!!

