89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #40 – Funny Girl (1968)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 40th review of the 89 chosen Films…


funny-girl

“I’m a bagel on a plate full of onion rolls! ” – Fanny Brice

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Biopic of  comedienne Fanny Brice and her influence on vaudeville both on and off the stage.

My Take on it – When going through the list of Best Picture nominees, I was actually quite surprised that this was one that I had never seen.

Despite being surprised, I had no clue what this film was about and was quite interested to see the film that helped cause the only tie in Oscar history for a acting award.

Barbara Streisand is great in this film and really shows that she can lead a film depsite this being her very first role ever.

Her Oscar win for Best Actress was well deserved.

The thing that baffles me a bit was her pairing with Omar Sharif (who I have always liked) because the chemistry between them doesn’t seem genuine enough.

This is actually quite ironic because supposedly they started an affair while making this which caused Streisand’s divorce from Elliott Gould.

This film has a great mix of comedy and drama and some of both can even lead one to tears because they are done exceptionally well.

The problem with this film tho is the fact that it runs a bit too long and drags way too much during the second half.

The music and choreography is great here and both help this film along to way to keep things interesting.

Bottom Line – Has some really funny scenes that are weighed equally with some touching and even dramatic scenes, but goes on a bit too long and drags a bit towards the end.  Streisand is truly great in this film, but I didn’t think she and Sharif had enough chemistry to be paired together.  Has some great songs that help it along the way.  Streisand definitely deserved her Oscar for this role.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – A publicity photo of Omar Sharif and Barbra Streisand kissing was released to the newspapers. With the emotions of the Six Day War still running high, the Egyptian press began a campaign to get Sharif’s citizenship revoked over the kiss. The Egyptian headline read: “Omar Kisses Barbra, Egypt Angry.” When asked to respond to the controversy, Streisand tried to make light of it. “Egypt angry!” she said. “You should hear what my Aunt Sarah said!” (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #40 – Funny Girl (1968)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1968 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1968 |

Let me Know what you think!!

