The Indian in the Cupboard (1995)


indian“Good! I like danger. Do you like danger, Texas Man? ” – Little Bear

Number of Times Seen – 1 (5 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young boy gets two presents for his birthday and when he puts them together something magical begins to happen.

My Take on it – This is a movie based on a cherished children’s book that doesn’t really feel like it has much to offer for adults.

I believe that had I seen this as a kid, it might have been able to capture a place in my heart, but as an adult, it just didn’t do it for me.

The story seems like it could be magical and kids can enjoy the story because it isn’t quite complicated and the messages are thinly portrayed for them to absorb and enjoy.

Unfortunately, I found my mind wandering too much during this film because it was only moderately interesting to watch and I can’t really say that I cared much about what would happen to the characters as things unfolded.

Bottom Line – Much more geared towards kids who will be able to have a magical attachment to the story and characters. There isn’t much for an adult to get from this film because it’s message and story are quite thinly portrayed and I found my mind wandering too much because it was only moderately interesting to watch and care what would happen.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The name Omri means “The Lord is my life” and was the name of a Hebrew king whose story is told in I Kings 16. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “The Indian in the Cupboard (1995)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1995 |

Let me Know what you think!!

