2017 Birthday Fave #1 – The Rookie (2002) – Encore Review


Today is my 43rd Birthday and I can think of no better way for me to spend this day than to rewatch some of my all-time favorite films.  So sit back and enjoy reviews of some of my all-time favorites.

Let’s start things off with…..  The Rookie (2002)

rookieposter“If you don’t have dreams, you don’t have anything. ” – Jimmy

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count  (16 Sep 2002, numerous times on DVD, 3 Jun 2013 and 11 Jan 2017)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A former rising baseball star who now coaches a high school team after being injured before making it in the Major Leagues, gets a second shot when he makes a bet with his team that if they get to the championship, he will go and try out for a major League team. Based on a true story.

My Take on it –Ever since I heard about this film 15 years ago, I was captivated by its premise.

I recall pre-ordering a copy of the DVD before I had even seen the film.

The themes discussed in the film had such a huge impact on my life that I even made a life-changing decision based largely on the story presented here.

I won’t bore you again with the story, but if you’re interested, you can read about it here.

Loved the way that the idea of taking a risk in order to fulfill your dreams is presented here and I always start to cry while watching this film because it is so close to my own heart.

What’s great here is that they are able to tell a two-tier story that deals with dreams of teenagers and of adults and merge them together in one story.

Even after 15 years, this movie still gives me energy and a purpose knowing that it’s never to late to make changes in life to follow your dreams.

Loved the chemistry between Dennis Quaid and Rachel Griffiths because it feels so real.

I’ve always been a fan of Quaid’s films, but this is definitely my all-time favorite!

Bottom Line – Amazing baseball film with so much heart.  Loved the way that they are able to tell a two-tier story that says so much about dreams for both teenagers and adults alike. This film impacted my life so much and still makes me tear up after 15 years of watching it over and over.  Quaid is amazing here and his chemistry with Griffiths feels so realistic.  Highly Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Dennis Quaid did much of his own pitching, but he was doubled in shots that required truly fast pitches, by former minor league pitcher Jeff Dowdy. No special effects were used to enhance the speed of the pitches; however, some camera tricks, such as “whip pans,” were used to make Quaid’s own pitches appear faster. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “2017 Birthday Fave #1 – The Rookie (2002) – Encore Review

  1. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – January 2017 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

Let me Know what you think!!

