2017 Birthday Fave #3 – Grand Canyon (1991) – Encore Review


Today is my 43rd Birthday and I can think of no better way for me to spend this day than to rewatch some of my all-time favorite films.  So sit back and enjoy reviews of some of my all-time favorites.

Let’s continue this fun with…..  Grand Canyon (1991)

grand-canyon“There’s so much rage going around we’re damn lucky we have the movies to help us vent it.” – Davis

Number of Times Seen –Too many to count (Theater on 11 Jan 1992, video, 9 Jul 2000, DVD, 11 May 2015 and 11 Jan 2017)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – The lives of 6 people in LA intertwine as they all try to find meaning in their lives amidst the chaos of life in the big city.

My Take on it – Ever since I saw this movie for the first time on my Birthday 25 years ago, I have loved this film.

The way that it deals with the idea of fate vs. coincidence in our lives is done so well that it makes you ponder those ideas for days on end.

Is there someone or something guiding us in life or does everything just happen by chance?

It’s possible to see things from both perspectives, but which makes more sense when looking at the puzzle of life.

Director/Writer Lawrence Kasden is able to create characters that feel so real and down to Earth that it’s easy to wish that we could know and even be friends with these people.

The storyline moves along really well and I love the way that Kasden chose to segue between the different storyline because it is done very smoothly.

The story is extremely realistic which helps make this so enjoyable to watch.

Amazing cast led by Kevin Kline, Steve Martin, Mary McDonnell and Danny Glover

Not only is this film one of my all-time favorite films but it also includes my favorite movie quote which I display at the top of my main page of this site because it really embodies my feelings about films – “That’s part of your problem: you haven’t seen enough movies.  All of life’s riddles are answered in the movies. “

Love the score of this film because it’s so emotional – check it out here

Bottom Line – Such an amazingly meaningful film.  The idea of fate vs. coincidence in our lives is explored so well.  The characters feel very real and down to Earth that it’s easy to want to feel like you can be friends with any of them.  The story moves extremely well and the way that Kasden segues from story to story is always fun to watch.   Amazing cast helps make this a great film. Extremely realistic story helps make this film so interesting to watch.  Love the movies main score too, it’s so emotional. Highly Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The picture won the Golden Bear Award for Best Film at the 42nd Berlin International Film Festival in 1992. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “2017 Birthday Fave #3 – Grand Canyon (1991) – Encore Review

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur – Silverado (1985) – MovieRob |

  2. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – January 2017 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1991 |

Let me Know what you think!!

