89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #51 – Picnic (1955)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 51st review of the 89 chosen Films…


picnic

“The ones we love are always pretty, but the ones who are pretty to begin with… everyone loves them.” – Millie Owens

Number of Times Seen – 1 (18 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – When a drifter shows up in a small town in Kansas on Labor Day, the quiet lives of the inhabitants are quickly disrupted.

My Take on it – This is a film that I’ve actually been avoiding for years because the premise always seemed really bland to me.

Unfortunately, I was right.

I understand that this is a story of rebellion from “normal” life during the 50’s, but it just doesn’t come across as being realistic enough when watching it more than 60 years after it was made.

I have always been a fan of William Holden and he was terribly miscast here because he just feels too old for the part he plays and because of that many things that he does or says sound comical insteda of serious.

The dialogue of the film is sharp and parts are engaging, but overall, the story and its message just aren’t powerful enough.

I’m a bit shocked that this was nominated for Best Picture that year.

Bottom Line – Pretty bland story about rebelling and wanting more in life.  Cast is ok here but Holden (who I love) was horribly miscast because he comes off as being too old for the part he plays.  The dialogue is sharp, but you don’t end up feeling that there was a strong enough message in the story.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – William Holden was so nervous about having to dance in the Moonglow scene that Joshua Logan took him to Kansas roadhouses to practice his dance steps, along with choreographer Miriam Nelson. When the scene came to be shot, Holden, an alcoholic, was drunk to calm his nerves. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #51 – Picnic (1955)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1955 |

Let me Know what you think!!

