89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #54 – Auntie Mame (1958)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 54th review of the 89 chosen Films…


auntie-mame“Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! ” – Mame

Number of Times Seen – 1 (22 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After his father dies, a young boy is transferred to the care of his eccentric aunt who does all she can to make a proper man out of him.

My Take on it – Yet another film that I had never even heard of and was extremely pleasantly surprised at how engaging and entertaining it was.

This film’s energy is totally on the shoulders of star Rosalind Russell who does a superb job at bringing to life an extremely energetic and eccentric character.

It’s a real shame that Russell lost the Best Actress Oscar because she was so refreshing to watch here.

The dialogue is amazing because it’s witty, clever and constantly engaging the whole time.

I really enjoyed the way that the tone of the film kept rotating between being serious and comedic because it gives the story more universal appeal.

I’m actually shocked that I’ve never heard more about this film and especially about the character of Auntie Mame because she seems to be such an iconic role that I would’ve expected to more popular.

This film is so much better than Gigi (1958), I can’t believe it didn’t win over that one for Best Picture.  IMHO, it’s the best of the 4 nominees that I’ve watched (one more coming later this week and it’s a doosie!)

So glad that I finally got to see this film and it’s definitely among my favorites of the new BP Nominees I’ve seen so far in this series.

Bottom Line – Extremely fun film that proved how great and actress Russell was.  The dialogue is crisp, witty and engaging.  Loved how the tone between comedy and drama kept switching giving us a story that is more universal.  The character of Auntie Mame is so refreshing to watch and it’s a shame that Russell didn’t get a deserved Academy Award for Best Actress for this superb role. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Reportedly, the character of Auntie Mame was based on Patrick Dennis’s real-life aunt, Marian Tanner. A good-natured eccentric, who lived to be nearly one hundred years old, Ms. Tanner’s advice to those seeking a more interesting, adventurous life was to never be afraid to try a new experience and to keep an open mind about everything and everybody. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #54 – Auntie Mame (1958)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1958 |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – January 2017 |

Let me Know what you think!!

