89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #57 – Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 57th review of the 89 chosen Films…


cat“I’ve got the guts to die. What I want to know is, have you got the guts to live?” – Big Daddy

Number of Times Seen – 1 (25 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A former football star must come to terms with his actions in life when he finds out that his father is dying.

My Take on it – This is yet another film that I had heard about before, but never had the opportunity to ever see.

I was completely blown away by this film because of the amazing dialogue.

I was entranced by the conversations of the characters from beginning to end.

Paul Newman, Elizabeth Taylor and Burt Ives are all superb here and help make each of their characters feel so real.

They do an amazing job of still being able to convey important pertinent information about the characters despite being banned from doing so blatantly by the HPC.

The conversations between the characters flows extremely well and this helps make things feel even more genuine which helps us perceive it at as being so real.

When this film ended, I was shocked because of the momentum created beforehand and was expecting it to keep going for a lot longer.

It was nominated for 6 Oscars and lost every one of them.  It somehow was beaten by Gigi (1958) which is such a more inferior film.

Bottom Line – Amazing dialogue-driven film that keeps us entranced from beginning to end.  Excellent performances by Newman, Ives and Taylor.  Loved the way that they were still able to convey what they were not allowed to say because of the HPC.  The conversation by the characters seem quite genuine and you actually can imagine them as being so real.  Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The references to homosexuality in the original play were removed from the screenplay to comply with the Hollywood Production Code. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #57 – Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1958 |

Let me Know what you think!!

