89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #61 – A Place in the Sun (1951)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 61st review of the 89 chosen Films…


place-in-the-sun“Men are so disgustingly prompt. I think they do it just to put us women in a bad light. ” – Angela

Number of Times Seen – 1 (30 Jan 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young man gets a job working for his uncle and ends up falling in love with two different women.

My Take on it – This is once again another film that I knew nearly nothing about before watching it.

I knew that it had won numerous Oscars including Best Director, but the plot wasn’t really known to me.

I liked the way that the story was structured and how we slowly get to see what happens as his love begins to bud for both woman.

The acting by the three main stars is great and it was thrilling watching Montgomery Clift, Elizabeth Taylor and Shelly Winters all do wonderful jobs.

The message of the film that deals with the concept of thoughts vs actions really resonates throughout and you can easily sympathize with the character through most (but not all) of his actions.

The fact that this film was able to give us a genuine feeling love story and discussed sensitive issues during the era of censorship is quite impressive to watch.

Bottom Line – Really liked the way that this films story plays out. Great performances by Clift, Taylor and Winters.  Really does a great job discussing the moralities of thoughts vs. actions.  Enjoyed the way that a film made during the era of censorship of movies was able to still give us a genuine feeling love story that defies many of the issues that weren’t discussed so openly at the time. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The box office failure of the 1931 adaptation of An American Tragedy (1931) prompted the filmmakers to seek an alternative title. One such title was “The Prize”. There was a $100 reward for whoever came up with the best new title, and George Stevens’s associate Ivan Moffat successfully pitched for “A Place in the Sun”. He never received his $100 reward. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #61 – A Place in the Sun (1951)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1951 |

Let me Know what you think!!

