89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #68 – The Razor’s Edge (1946)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 68th review of the 89 chosen Films…


razor

“You sound like a very religious man who does not believe in God! “- Kosti

Number of Times Seen – 1 (5 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A former soldier tries to find himself through spiritualism after his harrowing experiences after World War I

My Take on it – Hre is het another film that I knew absolutely nothing about before it came up as one of the Best Picture Nominees that I had never seen.

I knew that there was a film with the same title starring Bill Murray that came out in the 80’s, but I also never saw that film and wasn’t even sure if they were based on the same source material or not… apparently they are.

They do an amazing job here of showing different ways that people deal with tragedy and other surprises in life.

The fact that people in the same circles can be affected quite differently by the events of their lives shows that there really is no true answers for everyone but that we all need to find our own path to getting through these difficulties.

This story feels so real because of the way that the characters all experience regular aspects of life including tragedies,  loss of loved ones and even jealousy.

The cast is superbly led by Tyrone Powers and Gene Tierney.

Anne Baxter won a Best Supporting Actress Oscar for her role here and she really deserved it due to the range and scope of what she needed to portray here.

I guess I now need to see the remake with Murray in order to compare.

Bottom Line – Interesting look at how someone effected by war and destruction could try and find a better way to live his life especially when everyone else tries to remain in their high society circles. Also liked the way this film dealt with personal tragedies and jealousy because it all feels so real. Great cast led by Powers. Baxter really deserved her Best Supportng Actress Oscar because the range of her character is really immense. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When filming the hospital scene, Anne Baxter drew upon an experience from her childhood, when she lost her three-year-old brother. Speaking of it years later, she said the scene was the best in her career, and still gave her chills. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #68 – The Razor’s Edge (1946)

  1. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1946 |

Let me Know what you think!!

